Challenge final not too taxing for Admiral

Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young (14343-02)
Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young (14343-02)
Have your say

ADMIRAL DRAKE B completed a successful defence of the Challenge Cup as they beat Jolly Taxpayer C 7-2.

Sam Head and Charlie Jackson got Drake started in fine form with 16 and 15-darters respectively.

Adam Lipscombe and Danny Smith added two more.

Jim Mortimer briefly kept Taxpayer in the match before Jon Bramble and James Brooker sealed the trophy for the Admiral.

Taxpayer took a second leg through Kevin Mills and the last leg was a walkover for Drake’s Ricky Williams.

Star & Garter are the Plate champions after the division C side triumphed 5-4 over top-flight Stag A.

Dave Gisby, Paul Miller, Dave King, Kevin Hookey and Phil King struck for Star.

Mike Neilson, Paul Hooker, Paul Emeny and Joe Bridle replied for Stag.

Old House at Home B pulled away from division A’s relegation zone with a 5-4 victory over Newcome Arms A.

Colin McKean, Ken Dean, Brian Croucher and Shane Bailey, with an 18-dart leg, got wins for Old House.

Dave Paul fired a 180 as he won his match against Darrell Manchip, who scored a 180 in defeat.

Newcome’s replies came from Shane Filleul, John Richmond, Darren Barnes and Del Thomson.

Battle of Minden saw off fellow relegation battlers Froddington Arms A 5-4 in division C.

Jay Johnson won the decider for Battle.

Pete Davey, John Higgins, David Johnson Jnr and Colin Pedelty also bagged wins.

Mark Donnelly, Gary Potter, Liam Emery and Dave Lock, who hit a 180 and an 18-dart leg, were on the mark for Froddington.

Graham Arms A were relegated to division C after they lost 6-3 to Phoenix North End C.

Gavin Hall, Peter Smith, Arthur Hawkins, Terry Scullion, Trevor Cawte and Liam Thomson won for Phoenix.

Pembroke beat Druids Arms B 5-4 in division D. John Bailey and Danny Jones put Pembroke 2-0 up, before Tony Smith replied with a 106 finish.

Pembroke’s Martin Downs extended their lead only for Druids’ Phil Allen to peg them back once more.

Steve Brett and Nigel Teague bagged the points for Pembroke, leaving Steve Hansford, with a 108 finish, and Mark Pearce to take consolations.

Stag B stay top of division E after thrashing Thatchers 9-0.

Mick Jukes, with a 180, Mark Cunningham, Aaron Thomas, Mark Barnes, Tony Jeffery, Dion Jukes, Steve Clarke, Dave Smith and Matt Jeffery all won.

Paul La Roche (Mr Pickwick B) threw a 15-dart leg and 120 finish, while Steve Leigh (Harvest Home) had a 16-darter and Lester Miles (Admiral Drake B) notched a 17-dart effort.

Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) recorded two 18-dart legs, a 118 game-shot and a 180. Other 18-darters came from Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C), Lee Smith, Michael Neat (both Rose in June B), Danny Smith and Adam Lipscombe (both Admiral Drake B) with Neat finishing on 118 and Smith scoring 180.

Allan Lloyd (Mr Pickwick A) checked-out on 119 and Les Rance (Phoenix North End B) hit a 117 game-shot.

Shaun O’Donovan, Ron Jafkins (both M Pickwick B) and Julian Court (Mr Pickwick A) hit maximums.