Chichester Lord is over Phoenix

Jason Crawley. Picture: Allan Hutchings (14881-314)
Jason Crawley. Picture: Allan Hutchings (14881-314)
Andy Jenkins, right, beat Rob Collins, left, in the final

Andy Jenkins wins Bombs Away prize

Have your say

Lord Chichester B kept the pressure on the frontrunners in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division B with a 7-2 triumph over Phoenix North End C.

Chichester were quickly 4-1 up as Paul Haines, Mike Feaver, John Madgwick snr and Dean Charman struck – while only Arthur Hawkins could register an early response.

Dean Messinbird doubled Phoenix’s tally but that was all they could muster as John Madgwick jnr, David Patourel and Jim Stanhope took the remaining ties to complete a convincing victory.

Raven soared up to second in division C after coming from behind to dispatch Froddington Arms A 5-4.

Sean Hickley, Daniel Browne and David Lock put Froddington 3-1 up with the only resistance coming from James Baseden.

Raven hit back as Allen Gaymer, Ken O’Hara and Paul Marsh moved them into the lead.

Froddington’s Gary Potter forced a decider only for Lee Simmons to take it for the victors.

Mermaid are level on points with division D’s leaders thanks to a 5-4 victory over Druids Arms B.

Phil Ponsford opened proceedings with a success for Druids before Arnie Le Rouge immediately restored parity for Mermaid.

Druids regained momentum as Ron Udy, Tony Smith and Steve Hansford moved them within a leg of victory.

But that was all they could muster as Mermaid successfully staged a comeback with Ray Passfield, Gary Hornby, Jay Gill and Pete Oliver all notching wins.

Clarence Gardens are still searching for their first point of the season after going down 5-4 to Barley Mow.

Mow started well as Ben Lawrence and David Parsons put them 2-0 up.

But Clarence soon levelled thanks to wins from Michael Bowbrick and Lee Robertson.

Fred Stevens put Mow back in front but they soon lost the lead as Nick Hatherley and Ken Brown struck for Clarence.

David Plaiter took the penultimate clash and their triumph was sealed with a walkover for Rae Lawson.

Jolly Taxpayer C moved up to third in division A as Rose in June B paid the price for being a player short.

Taxpayer stormed into a 4-0 lead with sets from Kevin Mills, Andy Newcombe, Barry Evans and Rob White. Newcombe scored 180, as did his opponent Ian Pearce.

Rose replied in kind with four on the trot courtesy of Paul Taylor, Michael Neat, Lee Smith and Steve Hakin.

But that was all they had to offer as the last set went to Taxpayer’s Neil Banks to seal a 5-4 win.

Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) threw 14 and 15-dart legs and a 180 – while Shaun O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) hit a 16-darter and a maximum.

Jason Crawley (Phoenix North End B) recorded 17 and 18 dart efforts, while Tony Price (Newcome Arms B) and Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) also finished legs in 17 darts and Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B).

Anthony Quintavalle, Darrell Manchip (both Newcome Arms A), Danny Smith and Gary Collis (both Admiral Drake B) all had 18-darters with Manchip scoring a 180.

James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) checked out on 114 and Paul Easterbrook (Mr Pickwick A) had a 105 finish.

S O’Brian (Old House at Home B) fired in a pair of maximums and Mark Barnes (Stag B), Lee O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B), Neil Hewson (Mr Pickwick A) and Paul Grzeca (Admiral Drake A) all scored 180s.