Chichester shoot down Artillery Arms

Steve Ketchen
Steve Ketchen
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Lord Chichester A signalled their intent to secure their division A future.

They gunned down Artillery Arms 5-4.

Terry Dugan, Phil Stringer, Paul Stanley and Steve Ketchen were all on the mark to put Chichester 4-0 up.

Ketchen fired a 180 as he showed good form.

Artillery battled back, with Del Manchip, Darrell Manchip, Roy Morran and Jim Adams making it 4-4.

But Chichester’s Ray Williams won the crucial decider.

Phoenix North End A remained in division B’s promotion places thanks to a 6-3 triumph over Old House at Home A.

James Snook and Mark Hymers put Phoenix 2-0 up, before Pete Neale got Old House off the mark.

Phoenix’s two-leg advantage was restored by Mark Wilson, although John O’Shea hit straight back for Old House.

Phoenix took control of the game, with Mike Feaver, Richard Biffell and Dave Patourel giving them an insurmountable lead.

Bill Barrett took a late consolation for Old House.

Pelham Arms A are four points clear at the top of division C following their 5-4 victory against Star & Garter.

Wes Farminer and Bruce Baker got Pelham off to a good start but Dave Gisby and Steve Bern pulled Star level.

Pelham went 4-2 up courtesy of Paul Slingsby and Rob Louth.

But Star hit back again, with Paul Henty and Dave King ensuring the match went the distance.

Paul Wain won the decisive final leg for Pelham.

Baffins fell two points behind division D’s promotion places as they went down 5-4 to Battle of Minden A.

Gerald Cox drew first blood for Minden but Ken Journeaux and Fred Fuggle took legs for Baffins.

Minden regained the lead thanks to Jay Johnson and Peter Davey, before Baffins’ Brian Breadner restored parity.

John Higgins put Minden within a leg of victory, and although Vic Wain kept Baffins in the match, Tom Udy won the final leg to clinch the points for Minden.

Newcome Arms B moved two points clear at the top of division E as they beat Painters Arms 6-3.

Tony Price, Ron Neale, Chris Wallis and Gary Tobitt put Newcome 4-1 up, with only Clark Higgins offering any early resistance for Painters.

Lee Mulyne and Stephen Perry pulled two back for Painters but it was to no avail as Steve Wood and Ray Coombes took the remaining bouts for Newcome.

Neil Sheppard (Rose in June B) and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) both fired in 14-dart legs while Ivan Gicquel (Phoenix North End B) threw a 17-darter.

Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C), Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) and Sean Spillet (Jolly Taxpayer A) al recorded 18-dart legs with Spillett also checking out on 117.

Paul Easterbrook (Mr Pickwick) hit a 130 game-shot, while John Madison (Mr Pickwick) and Michael Byrne (Electric Arms) finished on 117 and 110 respectively and Steve Todd (Phoenix North End B) fired in a maximum.

Meanwhile, Admiral Drake B’s Jon Bramble and Steve Musson claimed the pairs’ title with a 3-2 victory over Dave Paul and Dave Gant, of Old House at Home B, in the final.

The Drake duo fired in an 18-dart leg as they took the crown.

In the semis, they beat Vic Smith and Phil Rudder (Mr Pickwick).