Clarence brush off the threat from Painters

Frankie Howard
Frankie Howard
Have your say

Dominant Clarence Gardens enjoyed a 7-2 triumph over Painters Arms in division E.

Clarence wasted no time in bagging the points with wins from Ken Brown, Tony Bell – 180 – Michael G Bowbrick and Michael Bowbrick and a walkover for William Barker.

Andy Trewin got Painters off the mark but Nick Hatherley and Glen Booth took legs to extend Clarence’s advantage.

Painters’ Adam Stenning replied with the last leg as a consolation.

Stag A missed the opportunity to pull away from division A’s relegation zone as Jolly Taxpayer C beat them 5-4.

Kevin Mills, Gary Madden, Steve Ockendon, Glyn Evans and Derek Banks got the job done for Taxpayer.

Andy Newcombe hit a scoring 180 for Taxpayer but didn’t win his match.

Ockendon hit a 100 finish and Banks registered an 18-dart leg and maximum.

Stephen Wain, Paul Hooker, Brian Hammond, with a 150 game-shot, and Duncan Cope all won legs for Stag.

Electric Arms climbed off the foot of division B as they defeated third-placed Graham Arms B 5-4.

Peter Pitt won the crucial final leg for Electric.

Robert Hatherley, Rob Andews, Steve Cole and Mick Byrne also recorded wins for them.

Star & Garter beat Raven 5-4 in division C.

Kevin Hookey, Dave Gisby, Paul Miller, Phil King and Stephen Browne secured the win for Star.

Raven’s James Baseden, Lee Simmons, Glenn Bremner and John Garnett were all on the mark but it wasn’t enough.

Druids Arms B recorded a 6-3 victory over Baffins in division D.

Phillip Ponsford, Dean Underdown, Ron Udy, Mark Pearce, Tony Smith and Stephen Hansford struck for Druids.

Vic Wain, Andy Ellis and Keith Farbrace took consolations for Baffins.

Charlie Jackson (Admiral Drake B) threw a 12-dart leg and a 180 while Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) and Shane Williams (Rose in June B) both had 16-darters, with Smith also scoring a 180.

Del Thomson, Darren Barnes, Paul Richmond, Frankie Howard (all Newcome Arms A) and Adam Lipscombe (Admiral Drake B) finished legs in 17 darts.

Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A), Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B), Laurie Clark (Old House at Home B), Michael Neat (Rose in June B) and Howard Price (Old House at Home C) hit 18-darters, with Jafkins and Clark also scoring 180.

Ricky Udy (Shearer Arms) checked-out on 152 and Les Stallard and Kelvin Legg (both Old House at Home C) had finishes of 124 and 120 respectively.

Paul Wain (Shearer Arms), Colin McKean (Old House at Home B) and Scott Tucker (Oyster House A) all fired in maximums.