Drake B launch defence

Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young (14343-02)
Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young (14343-02)
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Admiral Drake B began the new Portsmouth League season by beating Jolly Taxpayer C 6-3 in division A.

Barry Stevens scored 180 as he got the defending champions off the mark but a walkover for Jim Mortimer levelled matters.

Drake wasted no further time in bagging the points with Sam Head, James Brooker, Gary Collis and Bill Sturgess on the mark.

Collis and Head both had 18-darters and Head also checked out on 120.

Andy Newcombe threw an 18-dart leg on his way to reducing the deficit for Taxpayer and Neil Banks increased their tally to three before Danny Smith rounded things off.

Rose in June B came from behind to beat Newcome Arms B 5-4 in division B.

Dave Whyte and Mike Neat started Rose off with wins but Asa Norris and Ron Farmer jnr – and a Tony Small walkover – put Newcome 3-2 up.

Rose’s Ross Hughes squared the match but Gary Tobitt then moved Newcome 4-3 ahead.

However, Ian Pearce and Neil Sheppard took the last two legs to win the match for Rose.

Lord Chichester B triumphed 6-3 over Graham Arms B in division C.

Graham took a 2-1 lead through Dave Barker and Dean Barlow after David Patourel had taken the opener.

Mike Feaver levelled for Chichester but they went behind again as Anthony Barker won for Graham.

But that was all Graham could muster as Keith Taylor, John Madgwick jnr, Jim Stanhope and Paul Collins swept Chichester to victory with Stanhope hitting a 109 game-shot.

Despite taking the lead four times Baffins lost 5-4 to Oyster House in division D. Baffins enjoyed legs for Vic Wain and Ken Journeaux, a walkover for Ian Bates and a win from Keith Farbrace.

But they were interspersed with wins by Oyster’s Jim Stone, Chris Shinar and Jon MacDonald.

Oyster then took the last two with Dave Harrison and Chris Cobb jnr.

Raven won their division E opener, beating George & Dragon 5-4.

George took a 2-0 lead through Liam Buchan and Anthony Plummer before Raven won five on the trot to take the match. Glen Bremner, Bob Steel, Paul Marsh, Lee Simmons and Jerry Goddard all triumphed. Andrew Browne took a consolation leg for George.

Despite giving away a leg, Painters Arms overcame Barley Mow 5-4 in division F.

Brad Murrart, Sean Higgins and Stephen Perry propelled Painters into a 3-0 lead before George Watson got Mow off the mark.

Leo Mulryne and Tony Ruff then wrapped up victory, leaving Mow to enjoy wins for David Parsons and Pete Roberts before a walkover for David Plaiter.

Martin Stead and Darren Barnes (both Newcome Arms A) had 17-dart legs.

Chris Jafkins, Lee O’Donovan and Liam Jafkins (all Mr Pickwick B) notched 18-darters.

Mark Barnes (Stag B) checked out on 120 and Ray Williams (Lord Chichester A) fired in a maximum.

n Nell Gwynne have withdrawn from division C and matches against them will become byes.

n Old House at Home B are looking for players to join their division A campaign, anyone interested should contact Colin McKean on (023) 9269 1879 or 07530 093429.