Duke pile more pain on Newcome

Lester Miles
Lester Miles
Have your say

Newcome Arms B remain at the foot of division B of the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League after losing 5-4 to Duke of Devonshire.

Wins from Kev Goodall and Len Eastland, along with a walkover for James Stevens, put Duke 3-0 up.

Newcome restored parity as Sean Hickley, Tony Price and Ron Neale were all on the mark.

Paul Simmonds edged Duke back in front but Chris Wallis hit back for Newcome making it 4-4 to force a decider which John Elverson won to give Duke the match.

Jolly Taxpayer B cemented their position at the top of the table as they demolished Oyster House A 8-1.

Second-placed Lord Chichester B also enjoyed an 8-1 victory with a trouncing of Phoenix North End C.

Old House at Home C moved top of division C following their 5-4 win over Portland Arms.

Druids A dropped to second after they went down 5-4 to Baffins who moved out of the bottom two.

Pembroke triumphed 5-4 over George & Dragon to leapfrog them in the table.

George took the initial lead as Philip North and Les Weston won the first two legs but Pembroke soon put themselves in the driving seat with Robert Jones, Jon Bailey, Keith Watts and Martin Downs notching wins.

Shane Plummer and Kevin Woodward kept George in the match but Nigel Teague took the crucial last clash to bag the points for Pembroke.

Electric Arms moved up to second place in division D as they enjoyed a 5-4 victory over Stag B, who dropped to third.

Table-toppers Eldon Arms beat Thatchers 5-4 and have won every game so far.

Admiral Drake B emerged as 6-3 victors over Mr Pickwick B as division A’s top two clashed.

Elsewhere, Newcome Arms A recorded an impressive 6-3 triumph against Shearer Arms with Kevin Gilchrist firing two 180s.

Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) threw a 14-dart leg, while Derek Manchip (Artillery Arms) had a 15-darter and 155 finish.

Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B), Malcolm Smith (Oyster House B) and Barry Gibson (Mr Pickwick B) all threw 16-dart legs with Gibson scoring 180 and Collis checking out on 142.

Howard Price (Old House at Home C) registered a 17-dart effort and a 180 and Sam Head, Danny Smith (both Admiral Drake B), Jamie Stewart (Phoenix North End B), Lee O’Donovan and Liam Jafkins (both Mr Pickwick B) hit 18-darters with Smith scoring 180 and Stewart hitting a 110 finish.

Anthony Quintavalle (Jolly Taxpayer C) notched a 108 finish while Connor Hurry and Vic Smith (both Mr Pickwick A) checked out on 103 and 102 respectively.

Lee Cook (Phoenix North End B) finished on 101 and Allen O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) hit a 100 game-shot.

Shaun O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) and Rob White (Jolly Taxpayer C) both fired in maximums, while Bob Steel (Raven) scored 159 and Dave Bishop (Phoenix Southsea) and Steve Wood (Newcome Arms B) both scored 156.

Meanwhile, Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B), Sam Head, Danny Smith, Charlie Jackson, Lester Miles (all Admiral Drake B), Frankie Howard, Darren Barnes (both Newcome Arms A) and Anthony Quintavalle (Jolly Taxpayer C) progressed to finals night of the individual competition.