Duke trio clinch unlikely triumph

Lester Miles. Picture: Mick Young (14343-16)
Lester Miles. Picture: Mick Young (14343-16)
Have your say

Duke of Devonshire jumped off the foot of the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division B table with a 5-4 triumph over relegation rivals Old House at Home A.

Old House twice took the lead with Les Stallard and Jim Dean getting early wins.

But Duke hit back immediately each time as Paul Simmonds and Kevin Goodall won legs.

John O’Shea and Gary Bartlett moved Old House 4-2 up but Duke fought back from the brink of defeat as Norman Hollis, Harry Rogers and John Elverson were all on the mark to win the match.

Admiral Drake A dealt a blow to Newcome Arms B’s division C promotion hopes as they dispatched them 5-4 to claim their first win of the season.

Drake went 3-1 up courtesy of Brian Attfield, Ian Attfield and Mark Mitchell, while only Ron Farmer snr could muster an early response.

Ivan Lowden doubled Newcome’s tally but Allen Wilton and Simon Hughes won the next two clashes to give Drake the match.

Ron Neale and Chris Wallis took late consolations for Newcome.

Druids Arms B remained rooted to the foot of division D after they were trounced 7-2 by Old House at Home C.

Kane Potter, Mark Brooks snr, Dave Lock, Mark Brooks jnr, Matt Lock and Howard Price wasted no time in bagging the points for Old House.

Druids’ Stephen Hansford prevented a whitewash, though, before Ian Carter added a seventh for Old House.

The last leg was awarded to Druid’s Ron Udy as a walkover.

Jolly Taxpayer A fell further behind division E’s promotion contenders after losing 6-3 to Phoenix Southsea.

Taxpayer went 2-1 up thanks to wins by Steve Houghton and Paul Jolliff after Mick Mulvey took the opener.

Momentum then swung to Phoenix who rattled off three on the trot from Steve Jackson, Tomasz Bielecki and Nick Rizzuto to go 4-2 up.

Robert Houghton triumphed to keep Taxpayer in the match.

But it was only a brief respite as Melvin Jackson and Pete Hickman took the remaining games for Phoenix.

Rose in June B pulled away from division A’s relegation places following a 5-4 win over Artillery Arms.

Robbie Scott and Neil Sheppard put Rose 2-0 up.

But despite Lee Smith scoring 180 in the third set, Artillery’s Roy Morran pulled one back to make it 2-1.

Rose’s two-set advantage was reinstated by Ian Pearce but Artillery then hit back again through Barry Lenard.

Ross Hughes made it 4-2 and the triumph was sealed by a pair of 18-dart legs from Michael Neat.

Artillery took consolation sets from Graham Davies and Steve Woodage, who threw an 18-darter.

Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) fired in a 14-dart leg, while Shaun O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B), Paul Emeney (Stag A), Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A), Paul Easterbrook (Mr Pickwick A) and Rob Knowles (Graham Arms A) all recorded 17-darters, with Knowles checking out on 100.

Sam Head, Lester Miles, Danny Smith (all Admiral Drake B) and Liam Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) all had 18-dart legs and Head scored a maximum.

Ian Smith (Tap B) hit a 103 game-shot.