Eldon stay within Arms reach of promotion

Vince Aston was among the winners as Phoenix North End B defeated Rose in June B
Vince Aston was among the winners as Phoenix North End B defeated Rose in June B
Have your say

Eldon Arms stayed in touch with the Portsmouth Winter League division D’s promotion places thanks to a 6-3 victory over Clarence Gardens.

Martin Reily and Michael Chandler put Eldon 2-1 up after Lee Robertson opened proceedings for Clarence.

Ken Brown pulled the Gardeners level but Liam Elliott soon restored Arms’ advantage.

Clarence once again squared the match as Dan Shambrook won his leg but that was all they could muster, with Ian Mitchell, Craig Watson and Jon Davison claiming the remaining clashes to give Eldon the points.

Phoenix North End B came from behind to dispatch Rose in June B 5-4.

Chris Harradine, Lee Smith and Shane Williams gave Rose a 3-0 lead but wins from Geoff Cunningham and Les Rance – with an 18-dart leg – and a walkover for Lee Smith restored parity for Phoenix.

Vince Aston gave Phoenix the lead for the first time but Ian Pearce took the penultimate set, scoring 180 in the process, to force a decider.

Phoenix’s Bob Hey won that, hitting a 180 of his own.

Phoenix North End C earned their first points of the season as they triumphed 7-2 over Old House at Home B, who they leapfrogged in the table.

Arthur Hawkins (Phoenix) threw a 14-dart leg, while Colin McKean had a 16-darter for Old House.

Druids Arms A remained top of division B after dispatching a depleted Old House at Home A side 6-3.

Keith Horn put Druids comfortably 3-0 up after Reg Wilshaw and Connor Smith were awarded the opening legs as walkovers. Adrian Jones got Old House off the mark but Brett Smith hit straight back for Druids to make it 4-1.

John Landing kept Old House in the match but they couldn’t hold out any longer as Alan Smith won the next clash to give Druids an insurmountable lead.

Old House took a consolation leg through Peter Neale, leaving Darren Maplesden to round things off for Druids.

Graham Arms dropped to fourth in division C as they suffered a 6-3 defeat at the hands of Druids Arms B.

Druids took a 4-1 lead courtesy of Dean Underdown, Tony Smith, Chris Brown and Ron Udy, while only Nigel Young could provide any early resistance for Graham.

Robert Jamieson doubled Graham’s tally but Druids’ Mark Pearce won the next leg to bag the points.

Terry Griffiths won a consolation for Graham before Steve Hansford added Druids’ sixth.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) recorded a 15-darter and Darrell Manchip (Newcome Arms A) finished a leg in 16 darts.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) notched a 17-darter and Luke Smith (Fawcett Inn), Ricky Williams, Chris Jafkins, Sam Head (all Admiral Drake B) and Jon Bramble (Shearer Arms) all threw 18-dart legs, with Williams and Jafkins scoring 180s.

John Richmond (Newcome Arms A) hit a 139 game-shot and Mark Smith (Stag A) checked out on 113.

Rob Pithers (Phoenix Southsea), Charlie Linkhorn (Mr Pickwick), Tony Turner (Jolly Taxpayer C), Bob 
Rice (Lord Chichester A), James Brooker and Charlie Jackson (both Admiral Drake B) all fired in maximums.