Flourishing Rose outmuscle Arms

Bob Crawley
Bob Crawley
Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Rose in June A beat rivals Newcome Arms B 6-3 to leapfrog them into third in division E of the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League.

Shane Willett, Dave Alton and Will Tipler put Newcome in command.

Andrew Balderston hit an early leg for Rose and they then took charge as Craig Scutt, Dave Lennox, Ian Saynor and Chris Pratt sealed victory, with a walkover for Derek Fasseau making it six.

British Queen stay rooted to the foot of division A after losing 7-2 to Alexandra.

Neil Hallett, Richard Hind, Ray Mars, Darren Maplesden and Paul Drinkwater put Alexandra 5-0 up and secured the points.

David Place and Kevin Hayes struck consolations for Queen, with Lee Smith collecting Alexandra’s sixth, and Wesley Farminer making it seven.

Rose in June B beat Northcote Hotel 6-3 to keep in the promotion spots in division B.

John Large and Shane Williams put Rose 2-0 up before Graham Davis got Northcote off the mark.

Neil Sheppard restored Rose’s two-leg advantage but Barry Kewell and Derek Johnson struck for Northcote to restore parity.

However, that was all they could muster as Ian Carter and Mark Brooks jnr took the next two ties to seal the win for Rose, before they were awarded the last leg as a walkover.

Tangiers A edged Travellers Joy C  5-4 to secure their first win of the season in division C.

Both teams were depleted, with Tangiers two players short and Travellers one man down.

Ian McClaren, Chris Hawkin, G Dean and Michael Chandler wrapped up the win for Tangiers.

D Stapley and James Dean scored wins for Travellers as well as the two walkovers.

Old Canal C claimed top spot in division D with a 7-2 triumph over Alma Arms.

A Hopkins and S Portsmore put Canal 2-0 up but Paul Simmons and Rob Simmons were on hand to restore parity for Alma.

However, that was all Alma could muster and Canal swept to victory with legs from J Lampitt, Dave Lock, F Ellis, and James Scammell and a walkover for Matthew Lock.

Bob Crawley and Ian Critchett (both Phoenix Lounge) recorded 24-dart legs of 701, while team-mate Ivan Gicquel fired in a 100 game-shot.