Froddington strengthen E division charge

Ivan Gicquel. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141070-16)
Ivan Gicquel. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141070-16)
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Froddington Arms kept themselves in pole position for the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division E title with a comfortable 7-2 triumph over Baffins.

Sean Hickley, Daniel Browne, Alister Perkins, David Lock, Cameron Clark and Liam Emery gave Froddington an insurmountable lead before Piers Howorth and Fred Fuggle took legs for Baffins. Gareth Potter added Froddington’s seventh.

Oyster House secured runners-up spot in division F as they beat George & Dragon B 6-3.

George took a 2-0 lead through Richard Horrell and Stephen Hansford but Oyster then snatched the momentum with Chris Cobb jnr, Scott Tucker and Alex Hood moving them ahead.

Michael Stapleton restored parity for George but it was one-way traffic from then on with Jon MacDonald, Danny Wheeler and Dave Harrison taking the remaining ties to wrap up the win for Oyster.

Jolly Taxpayer C are resigned to a bottom three finish in division A after going down 6-3 to Phoenix North End B.

Bob Hey kicked things off in style as he fired in a 155 finish and maximum to put Phoenix 1-0 up before Ivan Gicquel doubled their lead.

An 18-darter from Andy Newcombe helped pull one back for Taxpayer but Lee Smith immediately restored Phoenix’s two-set advantage.

Taxpayer came back to 3-2 thanks to Gary Madden but Steve Todd, Vince Aston and Jamie Stewart then wrapped up the win for Phoenix with Aston throwing a 16-dart leg and Stewart checking out on 100.

Steve Ockendon took the final set as a consolation for Taxpayer.

Stag C wasted no time securing victory over Pelham Arms in division B as Dion Jukes, Ron Farmer jnr, Alan D Graf, Mark Cunningham and Stephen Clarke put them 5-0 up.

Pelham made the scoreline more respectable with Wes Farminer, Rob Louth, Bruce Baker and Paul Slingsby all on the mark to end the match 5-4.

Nell Gwynne moved out of division C’s bottom two as they enjoyed a 5-4 victory over Mermaid to leapfrog them in the table.

Kelvin Fletcher and Richard Pratt both gave Mermaid early leads but Nell hit back immediately each time through first Jon Davison and then Matt Lock.

Graham Cotterill gave Nell the lead for the first time but it was short-lived as Mermaid’s Ian Davies squared the match with the next leg.

David Lock and Michael Chandler took the next two legs to guarantee Nell’s win, leaving Stuart Benfield to round things off for Mermaid.

Star & Garter dropped to second in division D after suffering a 6-3 defeat to third-placed Druids Arms.

Star took a 3-1 lead courtesy of Phil King, Shaun House and Paul Henty after Druids took the opener through Brain Dickson.

Druids then seized control with Jeffrey Link, Pete Smith, Connor Smith, Darren Maplesden and Chris Brown completing the fightback.

Terry Dugan (Lord Chichester A) threw an impressive 11-dart leg, including a 180 while Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) registered a 15-dart leg.

Del Thomson (Newcome Arms A) and Darren Barnes (Mr Pickwick B) both had 16-darters and Martin Downs (Pembroke) and Liam Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) finished legs in 18 darts.

Ron Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) checked out on 116, James Bateman (Jameson) had a 100 game-shot and Shaun O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) scored 180.