Home shock Electric to jolt survival charge

Jason Crawley was in fine form
Jason Crawley was in fine form
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Harvest Home kept alive their slim chance of avoiding relegation from division B as they beat Electric Arms 5-4 in the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League.

Electric took a 3-0 lead through Steve Cole, R Hatherley and Peter Buckett before Harvest battled back to take the lead with wins from T Trevaskis, Ian Hunter, Adrian Mathews and Phil Mercer.

Despite giving Electric’s M Tilke a walkover in the penultimate leg to let them back into the match, Harvest sealed the victory as J Trelevan won the decider.

Phoenix Public Bar B claimed the division C title with a 5-4 triumph over Raven A.

Raven’s Paul Marsh opened the scoring before Lee Cook and Pete Smith moved Phoenix ahead.

Twice Raven restored parity, with Mick Tate and A Unwin on the mark, only for Dan Eade and Les Rance to strike for Phoenix.

Tex Griffiths pulled Raven level for a third time but Jim McIsaacs took the decider for Phoenix, hitting the double to crown them division C champions.

Tangiers B moved out of division D’s relegation zone following their 7-2 demolition of Froddington Arms A.

Mick Jukes and R Farmer took the first-two legs for Tangiers before Richard Bate struck for Froddington.

Tangiers wasted no further time in bagging the points as Dion Jukes, Luke Graf, Alan Graf and Alf D Graf swept them to victory.

A Lipscombe took a consolation leg for Froddington before R W Farmer added Tangiers’ seventh.

Pelham Arms B moved four points clear at the top of division E as they defeated second-placed Baffins 7-2.

O McDonald, Alan Poulton, Graham Kemp and Rob Louth put Pelham within a leg of the match after just four ties, with Kemp hitting a 101 finish to cap an 18-dart leg of 501.

Ian Bates kept Baffins in the match briefly before Paul Slingsby, Ricky Udy and J Jordan completed a comfortable win for Pelham.

Vic Wain won the last leg for Baffins.

Travellers Joy B stay fourth in division A thanks to a 5-4 win over Froddington Arms B.

Froddington initially went 3-0 up courtesy of T Ralph, P Rowe and Colin Blunden but Travellers then took five on the trot to win the match, with Dave Smith, John Colbourne, Dave Paul, Dave Gant and Mick Valvona all in winning ways.

Paul threw a 23-dart leg of 701, while Valvona’s opponent Shaun O’Donovan hit 180.

P Chapter won the remaining leg for Froddington.

Father-and-son duo Bob and Jason Crawley (both Phoenix Lounge) were in fine form, throwing 22 and 24-dart legs of 701 respectively.

Paul Simmons’ (Alma Arms) 100 game-shot and Paul Stanley (Lord Chichester), Tony Large (Rose in June B), Dave Robinson, Rob White (both Jolly Taxpayer C) and Ken Green (Jolly Taxpayer B) all fired in maximums.