Impressive Newcome Arms show their strength

Ron Jafkins. Picture: Malcolm Wells
Ron Jafkins. Picture: Malcolm Wells
Have your say

Newcome Arms B climbed above Raven in Portsmouth Winter League division B after beating them 6-3.

Tony Price and Gary Tobitt put Newcome in the driving seat before Allen Gaymer got Raven off the Mark.

Alex Adams restored Newcome’s two-leg advantage.

But Steve Wood scored 180 as he once again reduced Raven’s deficit to one.

Newcome wasted no further time in bagging the points.

Wins from Tony Small and Ron Farmer Snr did the job for them.

Bob Steel took a consolation for Raven before Jim West added Newcome’s sixth.

Portland stay top of division C after a comprehensive 7-2 victory over The Royal.

Royal drew first blood through Colin Hallett.

But Portland soon seized control with Dave Stewart, Steve Banham, Richard Oliver, Paul Drinkwater and Asa Norris giving them an insurmountable lead.

A walkover for Danny Haydon doubled Royal’s tally, leaving Liam O’Driscoll and Rob Griffin to round things off for Portland.

Battle of Minden moved up to second in division D following their 5-4 triumph over Clarence Gardens.

Peter Davey, Colin Pedelty and John Higgins put Minden 3-1 up after Anthony Bell won the opener for Clarence.

Clarence pulled one back courtesy of Lee Robertson.

But Minden were then awarded a walkover for Jay Johnson, putting them on the brink of victory.

Michael Bowbrick and Dan Shambrook kept Clarence in the match, making it 4-4 to force a decider which Andy Belshaw won for Minden.

Phoenix North End C are still searching for their first points of the season.

They suffered a 6-3 defeat at the hands of Mr Pickwick.

Trevor Cawte opened proceedings for Phoenix.

But their early advantage didn’t last long.

Ron Jafkins, Liam McGuire, Liam Jafkins, who hit a 17-dart leg, Phil Rudder, Allan Lloyd and Vic Smith swept Pickwick to victory.

Richard Bryant and Robert Thomson took the last two legs as consolations for Phoenix.

James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) recorded a 180 and 17-dart leg and Vince Aston, Tim Hope (both Phoenix North End B) and Jon Bramble (Shearer Arms) also finished legs in 17 darts.

Charlie Jackson (Admiral Drake B) threw an 18-darter and 138 finish while Dave King (Star & Garter) and Jim Mortimer (Jolly Taxpayer C) checked-out on 115 and 112 respectively.

Mark Mihell (Graham Arms), Mike Feaver (Lord Chichester B) and Chris Harradine (Rose in June B) all fired in maximums.