Marines fire as Meon struggle

Bob Crawley in action
Bob Crawley in action
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Meon Valley missed the opportunity to move out of division D’s relegation zone as they lost 6-3 to Three Marines.

Impressive Marines stormed into a 4-0 lead through Brian McNamara, Taliesin Jamer, Chris Verheist and Liam Davies before Matt Hickley got Meon off the mark.

Richard Bryant pulled Meon back to 4-2 but S Pankhurst struck for Marines and Dan Hale took a walkover before L Bateman won the last leg for Meon.

Pelham Arms maintained their two-point lead in division E as they demolished Gravediggers 8-1.

Oliver McDonald, Alan Poulton and Graham Kemp put Pelham in the driving seat before Gravediggers’ Luke Bulley briefly halted the onslaught.

Pelham claimed all the remaining clashes, with Ricky Udy, Paul Slingsby and Wayne Martin all chalking up wins, while J Birch and Rob Louth were also awarded walkovers.

Froddington Arms B pulled level on points with Jolly Taxpayer C in division A after defeating them 5-4.

Malcolm Swain and P Chapter started Froddington of in winning ways but Steve Ockendon won to halve Taxpayer’s deficit.

Shaun O’Donovan and Tony Shawyer responded for Froddington but Taxpayer fought back, with Jeff Kimber, Rob White and Dave Robinson taking the match to a decider. P Rowe held his nerve to secure the victory for Froddington.

Derby Tavern are second in division B following their 6-3 triumph over Graham Arms A. Derby took a 4-1 lead thanks to Dave Cunningham, Liam Jinman, T Stillwell and S Turner, while only Alan Duffin could provide any early resistance for Graham.

Tony Dyer kept Graham in the match but Neil Munro soon earned Derby the win, and a 180 and 18-dart leg by Shane Plummer added their sixth. Graham’s Paul Skeates took the remaining tie.

Travellers Joy C pulled level on points with the teams just above the division C relegation zone after they beat Old Canal A 5-4.

S Wilcox, Mervin Keen, Graham Keen and Les Saunders gave Travellers a commanding lead before G Richmond, T Kerr and B Phibben struck for Canal.

D Stapley took the penultimate leg to give Travellers victory, and the last game went to Canal’s C Carse as a walkover.

Bob Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) recorded a 24-dart leg of 701, while Joe Bridle (Tangiers C) took just one more as he used 25.

Ian Day (Clarence Gardens) finished 501 in 15 darts and Robbie Blake (Duke of Devonshire) and Mark Lyons (Mother Shipton) hit 18-dart legs. Vic Smith (Brewers Arms) hit a 120 game-shot and Dave Smith (Travellers Joy A), Terry Griffiths (Graham Arms B), Lee Banks (Clarence Gardens) and Lee Simmonds (Raven B) all fired in maximums.