Marmion not up to Standard

Martin Stead. Pic: Mick Young (13453-24)
Martin Stead. Pic: Mick Young (13453-24)
Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Marmion Tavern dropped two points behind division E’s front-runners after losing 6-3 to Royal Standard.

Tim Brosnan started Marmion off well.

But they were soon 3-1 down as John Wheatcroft, Tom Spiller and Jim Stones all struck for Standard.

Marmion restored parity through Brian Croucher and Jason Appleton.

That was it for them, though, with David Stanley, Lee Dagnall and Jon Bird taking the remaining legs to give Royal a convincing win.

Lord Chichester A kept alive their faint hope of escaping relegation from division A.

They recorded a 6-3 triumph over Old House at Home A.

Chichester were two players short and gifted walkovers to Old House’s Mark Brooks jnr and Ian Carter.

Daniel Legg took the opener for Old House to put them 3-0 up.

But Chichester then seized momentum with Steve Ketchen, Pete Curtis, Pat Reed, Ray Williams, Bob Ketchen and Bob Rice winning the remaining sets and the match.

Nell Gwynne moved above Graham Arms A in division B after beating them 6-3.

Gwynne wasted no time in bagging the points with Pat Paterson, Howard Price, Philip Juarvie, Michael Chandler and Matt Lock taking the first five games. Paterson scored 180.

Graham made the final result more respectable with wins from Martin Simmons, Nigel Young and Alan Duffin.

Jon Davison then added Gwynne’s sixth.

British Queen are closing in on the division C promotion hunt.

Their 5-4 triumph over Artillery Arms B took them within two points of the shake-up.

John Major and Ian Smith put Queen in the driving seat.

David Hatherley snr got Artillery off the mark but Andy Healey restored Queen’s two-leg advantage.

Graham Keen, David Hatherley jnr and Marvin Keen responded to make it 4-3 to Artillery.

Queen’s David Place snr kept his side in the match.

And team-mate Richard Place took the decider.

Druids Arms cemented their position in division D’s promotion places with a 5-4 victory over Rose in June A.

Druids put themselves on the brink of victory as Chris Smith, Brian Dickson, Steve Patrick – 120 game-shot – and Alan Smith put them 4-0 up.

Ian McClaren, Robert Ford, James Dugan and Bert Smith made it 4-4 before Brad Lennox took the decider for Druids.

Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) threw a 14-dart leg, Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) and Martin Stead (Newcome Arms A) recorded 16-darters and Ricky Williams (Admiral Drake B), Darren Barnes and Chris Jafkins (both Froddington Arms B) all finished legs in 17 darts.

Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B), Lee Jafkins (Froddington Arms B), Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) and Steve Humby (Jolly Taxpayer C) all threw 18-dart legs.