Newcome hold nerve to earn right Royal victory

Steve Ketchen. Picture: Mick Young
Steve Ketchen. Picture: Mick Young
Have your say

Newcome Arms B’s 5-4 triumph over The Royal took them within two points of the top of division C.

Royal took the opener through Ron Waters but Newcome were soon in front as Steve Wood and Tony Price notched wins.

Graeme Coles and Carl Hallett regained the lead for Royal but that was all they could muster as Jamie Knight, Bill Tipler, Gary Tobitt and Ron Neale swept Newcome to victory.

George & Dragon gained valuable points in division D’s relegation battle as they beat Old House at Home C 5-4 to narrow the gap between the two sides to four points.

Philip North and Tony Plummer put George 2-1 up after Dave Lock opened proceedings for Old House.

Ian Carter restored parity for Old House but Shane Plummer immediately put George back in front.

Old House pulled level once again courtesy of Kalven Legg but a leg from Les Browne and walkover for Les Weston bagged the points for George.

Keith Lovell took the remaining tie as a consolation for Old House.

Clarence Gardens continued their upturn in form in division E as they beat Connaught Arms 6-3 to claim their fourth win on the trot.

Connaught put themselves in the driving seat as Luke Smith, Sam Brown and Terry Brown put them 3-0 up, but it was to no avail as Glen Booth, Dan Shambrook, Lee Robinson and Michael Bowbrick all won for Clarence and walkovers for Nick Hatherley and Tony Bell completed their win.

Old House at Home B pulled level on points with Rose in June B after beating them 5-4

An 18-dart leg by Steve O’Brian got Old House off to winning ways before Ken Dean doubled their tally.

Ian Pearce pulled a set back for Rose but Old House moved within a set of victory as Colin McKean and Dave Paul notched wins.

Neil Sheppard briefly kept Rose in the match but Brian Croucher won the next clash to seal victory for Old House.

Rose’s Shane Williams and Steve Hakin made the scoreline more respectable with Williams recording a 113 finish and 18-dart leg.

Lord Chichester B cemented their position in division B’s promotion places as they overcame Graham Arms A 6-3.

Graham started positively with an 18-dart leg from Rob Knowles, however Paul Haines and Jim Stanhope soon put Chichester in the driving seat.

Jamie Davis moved Graham back on level terms but Mike Feaver took the next leg to edge Chichester back in front.

Graham’s Martin Simmons made it 3-3 but Steve Ketchen, John Madgwick snr and David Patourel swept Chichester to victory.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) threw 17 and 18-dart legs.

Steve Cole (Electric Arms) and Aaron Wood (Mr Pickwick A) also showed good form as they finished games in 17 darts.

Bob Ketchen (Lord Chichester A) and Phil Rudder (Mr Pickwick A) both had 18-darters checking out on 120 and 113 respectively.

Graham Davies (Artillery Arms) registered a 123 game-shot, James Batemen (Electric Arms) checked-out on 112, Allen Lloyd (Mr Pickwick A) hit a 110 finish and Kevin Mills (Jolly Taxpayer C) notched a 102 game-shot.

Lee Davies (Artillery Arms), Steve Humby (Jolly Taxpayer C) and Brian Hammond (Stag A) all fired in maximums.