Newcome lose ground despite Filby maximum

Steve Filby
Steve Filby
Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Newcome Arms A lost ground on division A’s top two in the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League, as they suffered a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Froddington Arms B.

Steve Filby scored a 180 as he took the opener for Newcome.

But they were soon behind as Tony Shawyer and Paul Rowe moved Froddington 2-1 up.

Newcome reasserted their dominance, with Bruce Baker and Del Thomson picking up legs but Lee O’Donovan was on hand to restore parity for Froddington.

Dean Jones won the seventh leg to put Newcome just one win away from bagging the points but Colin Blunden and Daniel Jafkins won the remaining bouts to secure a Froddington triumph.

Shearer Arms ground out a 5-4 win against Star & Garter in division B, with the teams winning alternate legs for most of the match as neither was able to take control.

Star took the initial advantage courtesy of Trevor Martin but it was the only time they led in the match as John Holt and Stuart Benfield took the next two ties for Shearer.

Chris Skeffineton pulled Star level briefly before Gary Hornby immediately gave Shearer the lead, only it was shortlived as Star’s Phil King squared the match.

Shearer went ahead once more through Peter Story only for Dave King to keep Star in the match and force a decider, which Kelvin Fletcher won for Shearer.

Froddington Arms A gained valuable points in the division C relegation battle as they overcame Three Marines 5-4.

Marines’ Donn Fabian and Norman Polter gave them an early lead but it was soon cancelled out as Paul Lipscombe and Barry Stevenson chalked up wins for Froddington.

Liam Davies and Simon Petrie put Marines 4-3 up as they took legs either side of Froddington’s Derek Toms.

Froddington couldn’t afford to drop another leg and Mark Whitelock and Adam Lipscombe obliged for them as they took the remaining games to win the match.

Devonshire Arms moved up to second place in division D following their 6-3 victory over Tangiers B.

David Lock, Luke Bulley and Liam Melia powered Devonshire into a 3-1 lead as only Alan D Graf resisted for Tangiers, with a 140 game-shot for an 18-dart leg.

Daniel Graf halved Tangiers’ deficit but Mark Donnelly restored Devonshire’s two-leg advantage.

Aaron Fisher claimed Tangiers’ third, though it was to no avail as Vincent Lombardo and Terry Raggett won the remaining legs to push Devonshire up the table.

Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) threw a 22-dart leg of 701 and Peter Buckett (Electric Arms) finished 501 in 18 darts.

Dave Katterhorn (Brewers Arms) hit a 122 game-shot, while Ian Critchett (Phoenix Lounge A) and Dan Tull (Pelham Arms B) checked out on 117 and 112 respectively.

Lee Smith (Admiral Drake B) and Terry Griffiths (Graham Arms B) both fired in maximums.