Old House take title after dousing Dragon’s fire

Adam Lipscombe
Adam Lipscombe
Have your say

Old House at Home C clinched the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League division C title with a 5-4 victory over George & Dragon.

Mark Brooks Jnr and Howard Price put Old House in the driving seat but George hit back to restore parity through Robbie Brooks and Kevin Woodward.

Jason Appleton regained the lead for Old House but Les Browne was on the mark for George to pull them back level.

Old House wasted no further time in bagging the points, though, as Matthew Lock and Shae Bailey gave them an insurmountable lead, leaving Anthony Plummer to take the last tie as a consolation for George.

Jolly Taxpayer C finished above Shearer Arms in division A after beating them 5-4.

The victory saw Taxpayer leapfrog their opponents in the table.

Taxpayer took a 3-1 lead courtesy of Steve Ockendon, Jim Mortimer and Anthony Quintavalle, with only Bruce Baker mustering any early resistance.

Paul Slingsby reduced Shearer’s deficit to one – only for Taxpayer’s Andy Newcombe to put his side within a set of victory.

Paul Wain took the next set to keep Shearer in the match but it was only a brief reprieve as Rob White won the penultimate clash to give Taxpayer the match.

Sam Palmer threw an 18-dart leg as he took a late consolation for the Shearer outfit.

Mermaid were relegated from division B after losing their final match of the season 7-2 to Star & Garter, who finished third.

Phil King and Dave King started Star in winning ways before Steve Wiltshire got Mermaid off the mark.

Star then seized momentum and rattled off five legs on the trot through Tom Bartholomew, Dave Gisby, Paul Miller, Gary Haywood and Kevin Hookey, with Hookey throwing an 18-darter.

Mermaid took the last leg as a consolation through Connor Whearcroft.

John Richmond (Newcome Arms A) hit a 116 finish for a 15-dart leg, while Charlie Jackson (Admiral Drake B) also finished a leg in 15 darts.

Del Thomson and Darrell Manchip (both Newcome Arms A) notched 17-darters, with Thomson scoring 180.

And Darren Barnes, Steve Filby (both Newcome Arms A), Chris Harradine (Rose in June B) and Colin McKean (Old House at Home B) all threw 18-dart legs.

John Madgwick Snr (Lord Chichester B) hit a 115 finish and Shane Williams (Rose in June B) had a 110 game-shot.

Alex Hood (Oyster House A), Liam Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B), Adam Lipscombe (Admiral Drake B), Nick Light (Old House at Home B), Derek Manchip (Artillery Arms), Vic Smith (Mr Pickwick A), Pete Curtis and Paul Stanley (both Lord Chichester A) all fired in maximums.