Oyster slip up as Royal reign

Les Saunders, far right, checked out on 142. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (113011-4)
Les Saunders, far right, checked out on 142. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (113011-4)
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Oyster House missed the chance to extend their lead in Portsmouth Men’s Summer League division E.

The table-toppers went down 6-3 to Royal Standard.

Jon Macdonald gave Oyster the initial advantage but Royal wasted little time in bagging the points with Des Erridge, Lee Dagnall, Tom Spiller, Paul Page, Jim Stone and John Wheatcroft all on the mark.

Alex Hood and Chris Cobb jnr took late consolations for Oyster.

Jolly Taxpayer C lost ground on division A’s front-runners after suffering a 7-2 defeat at the hands of Froddington Arms B.

Kevin Mills gave Taxpayer a 1-0 lead but Froddington were soon in charge as Liam Jafkins, Chris Jafkins – 18-dart leg – and Darren Barnes put them ahead.

Taxpayer’s Neil Banks hit a 100 game-shot against Barnes.

Andy Newcombe pulled one back for Taxpayer.

But that was all they could manage as Ash Purkiss, Daniel Jafkins, Lee O’Donovan and Shaun O’Donovan completed a convincing win for Froddington.

Pelham Arms A opened up a four-point lead at the top of division B thanks to a 7-2 win over Mermaid.

Paul Slingsby, Ricky Udy and Robert Blake put Pelham in the driving seat, with Blake recording an 18-dart leg and 106 finish.

Stuart Benfield hit back for Mermaid with a 117 game-shot.

But it was to no avail as Paul Wain, Bruce Baker, Graham Kemp and Tom Farminer notched legs for Pelham.

Ryan Knight won the remaining tie as a consolation for Mermaid.

Division C leaders Newcome Arms B got back to winning ways as they dispatched Baffins 3-1.

Piers Howorth opened proceedings for Baffins before Newcome rattled off five legs on the trot.

Chris Wallis, Anthony Quintavalle, Tony Price, Alex Adams and Asa Norris gave Arms an insurmountable lead.

Baffins’ Michael Chandler and Vic Wain made the scoreline more respectable before Ron Neale added Newcome’s sixth.

George & Dragon A sit two points outside division D’s promotion places following a 6-3 victory over Barley Mow.

Frank Woodward, Mark Pearce and Shane Plummer put George 3-1 up, with only Rae Lawson mustering any early resistance for Mow.

Glenn Stevens then reduced Mow’s deficit.

But the match was soon over as a contest as Dean Underdown, Les Western and Malcolm Tilley were on the mark for George.

Mow’s Tony Leppard won the remaining leg.

Shane Williams (Rose in June B) and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) both threw 16-dart legs.

Colin McKean (Old House at Home B) and Mason Riou (Mr Pickwick) had 17-darters and Ian Pearce (Rose in June B) finished a leg in 18 darts.

Les Saunders (Artillery Arms B) checked out on 142.

Meanwhile, Cliff Hart (Harvest Home) hit a 121 game-shot and Dean Barlow (Graham Arms B) and Martin Stead (Newcome Arms A) finished on 112 and 106 respectively.

David Hatherley snr, Paul Miller (Froddington Arms A), Dan Eade (Phoenix North End B), Pat Paterson (Nell Gwynne) and Richard Morey (Battle of Minden B) all fired in maximums.