Oyster still in hunt for title

Ricky Williams. Picture: Mick Young (14343-08)
Ricky Williams. Picture: Mick Young (14343-08)
Have your say

Oyster House A kept themselves in the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division D title race with a 5-4 triumph over George & Dragon.

Chris Cobb jnr, Michael Smythe and Scott Tucker put Oyster 3-1 up, while Shane Plummer offered resistance.

George restored parity through Liam Buchan and Les Browne before Chris Cobb snr hit back.

Les Weston took the penultimate leg for George 
to force a decider but it was won by Oyster’s Daniel Wheeler.

Eldon Arms remain second in division E after their 6-3 victory over Jolly Taxpayer A.

Sam Damarell opened proceedings for Eldon but they were soon behind as Steve Houghton threw a 17-dart leg which was followed up with a win from Kevin Houghton.

Eldon put themselves back in the driving seat thanks to James Elliott, Michael Chandler and Liam Elliott.

Michael Bedford kept Taxpayer in the match but it was to no avail as Craig Watson and Martin Dean took the remaining ties to give Eldon the points.

The two undefeated sides in division A went head-to-head, with Admiral Drake B emerging victorious with a 6-3 win over Mr Pickwick B.

Despite James Brooker throwing a 14-dart leg, he lost the first set to Pickwick’s Barry Gibson.

Drake hit back with Barry Stevens before a 15-dart leg and 116 finish helped Chris Jafkins put Pickwick back in front by beating Jon Bramble, who had a 16-darter.

Drake pulled level once again as Danny Smith notched 13 and 16-dart efforts but Pickwick pulled away through Shaun O’Donovan.

But that was all they could muster with Drake’s Ricky Williams, Sam Head, Adam Lipscombe and Gary Collis taking the remaining sets.

Head threw an 18-darter and 180 and his opponent Lee O’Donovan also hit 180.

Pickwick’s Liam Jafkins threw a 16-dart leg.

Shearer Arms are still undefeated in division B after beating Harvest Home 5-4.

Harvest took a 2-1 lead as Phil Mercer and Steve Leigh were on the mark either side of a Wes Farminer win.

Shearer then posted an insurmountable lead with wins from Rob Louth, Robert Blake and Paul Slingsby, along with a walkover for Sam Palmer.

Joel Luke and David Place jnr took the remaining legs as a consolation for Harvest.

Jolly Taxpayer B kept themselves in division C’s title race as they overcame The Royal 7-2.

Royal’s Mark Callcut took the opener but Taxpayer wasted no further time in bagging the points with five wins on the trot from Dave Mortimer, Ted Andrews, Ray Priseman, Tony Turner and Dave Clarke.

Ron Waters took a consolation for Royal before George Davis and Dave Andrews wrapped up the win.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A), Shane Williams (Rose in June B) and Darren Sullivan (Mr Pickwick A) all threw 18-dart legs and Ricky Udy (Shearer Arms) fired in a maximum.