Pelham ease to a fine victory over Minden

Ricky Williams
Ricky Williams
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Pelham Arms reinforced their dominance in division E as they whitewashed third-placed Battle of Minden A 9-0 to stay two points clear at the top.

Dennis Jordan, Rob Louth, Paul Slingsby, Lee Brothers, Alan Poulton, Graham Kemp, Wayne Martin and W Hucklebridge were all on the mark for Pelham, before Ricky Udy was awarded a walkover to complete the rout.

Admiral Drake B fell four points behind division A’s leaders after losing 5-4 to Travellers Joy B, who now sit third from bottom.

Dave Smith, Derek Sutton and Adams fired Travellers into a 3-0 lead but Bill Sturgess, Steve Musson and Jon Bramble fought back to restore parity for Drake, with Sturgess and Musson both scoring 180.

However, Travellers rega-ined the lead through Adrian Jones, and Steve Rackett took the penultimate leg to give them the match.

Drake’s Ricky Williams took the last leg, finishing 701 in 21-darts as a consolation.

Derby Tavern drop to fourth in division B after suffering a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Battle of Minden B.

Dave Cunningham set Derby off on winning ways but they couldn’t sustain it as Minden took a 4-1 lead through Malcolm Alden, Mark Williams, Frank Williams and David Williams.

Derby battled back to level the match at 4-4 as S Turner, Neil Munro and M Fearon all won legs, but James Jewitt took the decisive tie to seal victory.

Clarence Gardens drop to third place in division C after Old Canal A came from behind to beat them 5-4.

Dave Bernie and Dean Kilford put Clarence 2-0 up but Canal then rattled out four wins on the trot from Dave Wade, B Phibben, Derek Knight and Michael Crabbe.

Clarence held on for two more legs with Ian Day and Scott O’Neil keeping them in the match, but it was Canal’s Howard Price who took the decisive leg for victory.

Eldon Arms remain in the division D promotion race as they beat Tangiers B 5-4.

Tangiers took the initial lead through Alan D Graf but Eldon’s Jon Davison, Martin Dean, Robert Griffin and E Hughes-D’aeth struck, and Steve Broadbent was awarded a walkover to guarantee them the points.

Dion Jukes and RW Farmer took consolations for Tangiers before Paul Roberts added Eldon’s sixth.

Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) and Jason Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) both fired in maximums as they threw 22 and 24-dart legs of 701 respectively.

Dave Gant (Travellers Joy A) had a 112 game-shot while Graham Keen (Travellers Joy C) and Sam Monk (Mother Shipton) both hit maximums.