Phoenix B secure derby spoils

Dean Jones finished 701 in 20 darts
Dean Jones finished 701 in 20 darts
Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Phoenix Public Bar B moved six points clear at the top of division C in the Portsmouth Men’s League after a 7-2 derby victory over their A side.

John Garratt, Lee Cook and Bob Hey put the B side 3-0 up before Les Phipps got the A team off the mark.

Legs from Dan Eade and Jim McIsaacs secured the win for the league leaders before D Gregg added a second for Phoenix A.

Pete Smith and Les Rance took the remaining games for the B team.

Shearer A maintained their four-point advantage in division D as they defeated third-placed Jolly Taxpayer A 6-3.

Shearer stormed into a 4-0 lead through Jason Sidaway, Stuart Benfield, Gary Hornby and John Holt.

Kevin Houghton briefly kept Taxpayer in the match before Matt Bolton grabbed the points for Shearer.

Steve Houghton and Andy Newcombe took consolations for Taxpayer either side of Ray Passfield adding Shearer’s sixth.

Division E leaders Pelham A stay two points clear at the top of division E following their 7-2 triumph over third-placed Newcome Arms B.

Will Tipler opened proceedings for Newcome but Pelham wasted no further time in winning the match as J Jordan, Ricky Udy, Paul Slingsby and Wayne Martin were all on the mark before Rob Louth was awarded a walkover.

Newcome pulled one back courtesy of Tony Price but the remaining legs went to Pelham’s Dennis Jordan and G Birch.

British Queen celebrated their first win of the season in style in division A as they defeated Lanyards 5-4.

John Orchard drew first blood for Queen before Lanyards went 2-1 up through Kevin Gilchrist and Kane Potter.

Kevin Hayes restored parity for Queen but Daniel Hall and D Gilchrist then put Lanyards within a leg of victory.

However, Queen fought back with John Major and David Place squaring the match before Paul Edwards took the deciding leg.

Artillery Arms leapfrogged Electric Arms in the division B table after they recorded a 5-4 victory in the key clash.

Artillery took a 3-0 lead with wins from Graham Davies, S Malone and John Cooper who threw a 17-dart leg of 501.

Peter Buckett got Electric off the mark but Austin Main immediately restored Artillery’s three-leg advantage.

Steve Cole kept Electric in the match before Roy Morran clinched victory for Artillery.

Electric won the last two games as consolations through J Bateman and Garry Allen.

Dean Jones (Newcome Arms) finished 701 in 20 darts, while Steve Musson and Jamie Stewart took 22 and 24 darts respectively and both hit 180.

Robbie Blake (Duke of Devonshire) and Trevor Martin (Star & Garter) both recorded 17-dart legs of 501

Paul Stanley (Lord Chichester) fired in a 118 game-shot, while Richie Bryant (Meon Valley) checked-out on 109 and Richard Hind (Alexandra) scored a maximum.

Teams in the league should take note that division E side Avenue have withdrawn from the competition.