Phoenix Southsea open account

Froddington Arms' Louis Arnell. Picture: Sarah Standing (160515-7312)
Froddington Arms' Louis Arnell. Picture: Sarah Standing (160515-7312)
Have your say

Phoenix Southsea bagged their first victory of the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League season with a 6-3 triumph over Thatchers A in division D.

Mick Mulvey and Steve Jackson got them off to a good start before Thatchers hit back as David Edwards and Mark North pulled them level.

Phoenix went back in front thanks to John Lloyd but Chris Lawrence once more restored parity.

But that was all they could muster as Southsea seized control with legs from Melvin Jackson and Nick Rizzuto before claiming the last as a walkover for John Nash.

Mr Pickwick B are among the early frontrunners in division A after their 7-2 victory against Jolly Taxpayer B.

Pickwick stormed into a 3-0 lead courtesy of Daryl Connor, Liam Jafkins and Brian Colenut before David Clarke got Taxpayer off the mark.

Ken Dean made it 4-1 and – despite Barry Evans winning a second set for Taxpayer – Pickwick sealed a convincing win with Colin McKean, Kyle McManus and Dave Paul on target.

Phoenix North End C came from behind to secure a 6-3 win over Thatchers B in division B.

Terry Scullion, Mick Winkley, Pete Smith and Trevor Cawte were among those on the mark for Phoenix.

Froddington Arms A dispatched Lord Chichester A 6-3.

Alan Graf Jnr, Nathan Elverston, Daniel Brown and Louis Arnell put Froddington 4-1 up with only Austin Egan providing any early resistance.

Terry Dugan kept Chichester in the match before wins from Dave Lock and Luke Graf ended the game as a contest.

Pat Reed took a late consolation for Chichester.

Charlie Jackson (Admiral Drake B) threw a 13-dart leg, including a 177 score and Lee O’Donovan (Jolly Taxpayer C) notched a 14-darter with a 180.

Graham Keen (Oyster House B) had a 15-dart effort and Barry Stevens, Danny Smith (both Admiral Drake B), Dean Barlow (Graham Arms B) Mike Feaver and John Madgwick Snr (both Lord Chichester B) all finished legs in 17 darts, with Barlow scoring a 180.

Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) registered a pair of 18-darters and a 180.

There were also 18-dart legs from John Madgwick Jnr (Lord Chichester B), Joe Bridle (Phoenix North End B) and Paul Richmond (Newcome Arms A). Madgwick and Bridle both scored 180s – with Madgwick also checking out on 113.

Jon Madison (Stag A) hit a 158 game-shot, Steve Todd (Phoenix North End B) recorded a 140 finish and Paul Lipscombe (Froddington Arms B) had a 104 game-shot.

Phil Rudder (Mr Pickwick A) fired in two maximums with Jon Bramble (Shearer Arms) and Shaun O’Donovan (Jolly Taxpayer C) also scoring 180s, while Len Eastland (Duke of Devonshire A) scored 177.