Phoenix turn up the heat on Dragon

Bob Crawley
Bob Crawley
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Phoenix North End C stunned George & Dragon A with a 5-4 triumph in division D.

Trevor Cawte and Carl Dutton got Phoenix off to a good start.

But Dragon roared back, with Les Browne, Malcolm Tilley, Frank Woodward and Mark Pearce making it 4-2.

They could not close out the final victory they needed, though.

James Guest, Pete Smith and Joe Standen took the remaining legs for third-placed Phoenix to knock Dragon off the top.

Marmion Tavern moved into division E’s promotion places with a 6-2 triumph over Painters Arms.

Tim Brosnan and Brian Croucher put Marmion 2-1 up, with legs either side of Painter’s Steve Perry.

Leo Mulryne pulled Painters level but John Dugworth and Adam Dungworth restored Marmion’s lead.

Marmion’s fightback was curtailed as Luke Barnett’s victory was declared void.

Anthony Goodeve and Steve Goodeve took the last two legs as walkovers for Marmion.

Phoenix North End B maintained their good form in division A with a 6-3 win over Mr Pickwick.

Les Rance gave Phoenix the initial lead but they then went 2-1 down as Dave Kattenhorn and Neil Hewson were on the mark for Pickwick.

Phoenix wasted no further time in bagging the points.

Lee Smith, Jamie Stewart, Vince Aston, Bob Crawley and Steve Todd all won sets, with Stewart recording a 15-dart leg, 180, and 126 finish and Crawley throwing an 18-darter.

Mason Riou won the last set as a consolation for Pickwick with a 15-dart leg and 180, despite Phoenix’s Dan Eade hitting a maximum against him.

Division B leaders Electric Arms had their advantage reduced to two points as they lost 5-4 to second from bottom Jolly Taxpayer B.

Taxpayer took a 3-0 lead courtesy of Kevin Green, David Gough and Anthony Turner before a walkover for Tom Byrne got Electric off the mark.

Colin Prout put Taxpayer within a leg of victory.

But Pete Webb, James Bateman and Peter Pitt were on the mark for Electric to keep them in the match and force a decider which David Andrews won for Taxpayer.

Raven B came from behind to beat Old Canal B 6-3 in division C.

Malcolm Smith hit a 100 game-shot to give Canal the opening leg but Raven hit back through Ken O’Hara.

Canal regained the lead with wins from Ben Shawyer and Mervin Keen putting them 3-1 up.

That was all they could manage, though, as John Garnett, Paul Marsh, Jerry Goddard, Dave Marshall and Alan Gaymer won for Raven.

Sam Head and Rob Newland (both Admiral Drake B) both registered 15-dart legs.

Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) had a pair of 18-darters and Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) also finished a leg in 18 darts.

Ian Salter (Lord Chichester A) hit a 126 game-shot while Mark Smith (Stag A), Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B), James Snook (Phoenix North End A) and Adam Lipscombe (Newcome Arms A) all fired in maximums.