Pickwick in a Hurry

Adam Lipscombe
Adam Lipscombe
Have your say

Stag A dropped to the bottom of Portsmouth Winter League division A after suffering a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Mr Pickwick A.

Darren Sullivan scored a 180 as he took the opener for Pickwick and sets from Charlie Linkhorn and Richard Beech soon had them 3-0 up.

Stephen Wain pulled one back for Stag but Vic Smith restored Pickwick’s three-set advantage.

Stag pulled themselves back into the match, with wins from Paul Hooker and Paul Emeney, but Connor Hurry took the penultimate set to give Pickwick the points.

Mark Smith took a late consolation for Stag.

Lord Chichester B resisted a strong fightback from their division B opponents Old House at Home A before emerging as 5-4 victors.

John Madgwick jnr, Paul Haines and Paul Collins put Chichester 3-0 up before Barry Longhurst got Old House off the mark.

Steve Ketchen took Chichester within a leg of victory.

But Adrian Jones, Peter Neale and Raymond Rigg restored parity for Old House.

Mike Feaver then won the decider for Chichester.

Battle of Minden came from behind to defeat The Royal 5-4 in division C.

Royal stormed into a 3-0 lead with wins from Danny Hayden, Mark Callcut and Graeme Coles.

Jay Johnson and John Higgins pulled legs back for Minden.

But Sam Palmer then made it 4-2 to Royal.

However, momentum then swung to Minden.

David Johnson jnr, Jimmy Lampitt and Pete Davey won the remaining ties to bag the points.

Portland Arms moved top of division D following their 6-3 triumph over Druids Arms B.

Portland took the lead both times with Joe Sweetman, Julian Whelan and Jack Hicks all moving them ahead.

But each time Druids hit straight back with a walkover for Tony Rees and wins from Ron Udy and Tony Smith respectively.

Portland finished the job, with Asa Norris hitting a 180 and Ben Watson and Keith Mayne sealing the win.

Clarence Gardens claimed their first points of the season as they beat Phoenix Southsea 5-4 in division E.

Lee Robertson, Dan Shambrook and Ken Brown put Clarence in charge, with Brown checking out on 117.

Mick Mulvey, John Lloyd and Rob Pithers all won for Phoenix.

But Nick Hatherley and William Barker gave Clarence the win.

Steve Jackson won the last leg as a consolation for Phoenix.

Adam Lipscombe (Admiral Drake B) fired in a 15-dart leg and 152 finish and team-mate Gary Collis notched a 16-darter and a 180.

Lee O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) and Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) both had 17-dart efforts, while Ken Dean (Old House at Home B), Shane Williams (Rose in June B), Del Thomson, Darrell Manchip (both Newcome Arms A) and Glenn Bremner (Raven) all threw 18-dart legs with Williams, Thomson and Manchip also scoring 180s.

Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B) recorded a 147 finish, Clive Pearce checked out on 120 and David A Hatherley snr (Oyster House B) had a 100 game-shot.

Steve Goodeve (Fawcett Inn), Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) and Shaun Brooker (Admiral Drake B) all fired in maximums.