Pinhorne hits the target

editorial image
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Danny Pinhorne lived up to his top-seed billing by triumphing in the Autumn Grand Prix series finals night.

Pinhorne bagged the £320 top prize with an 8-2 victory over Ricky Williams in the final having beaten Danny Smith 7-2 in the previous round.

The Havant thrower began his night with a 5-4 win against Ben Marley before dispatching Kev Gilchrist 6-1 in the last eight.

Gilchrist had overcome eighth seed Justin Bradshaw in his opening match.

Number-five-seed Smith’s route to the semi-final saw him win 5-2 against Robbie Norster before defeating Adam Lipscombe 6-3.

Lipscombe’s opener saw him knockout fourth seed Wayne Crossley.

In the other half of the draw, the unseeded Williams whitewashed third-ranked Andy Jenkins in his first game before beating sixth-seed Steve Jannaway 6-5 in the last eight and second-seed Paul Gibbs 7-2 in the semis.

Gibbs had reached the last four by winning 7-2 against Lee Evans, seeded number seven, in the quarters, having edged out Steve Phillips 5-4 in the first round.

Evans won his first game 5-1 against Ian Harty.

Jane Monaghan won the ladies’ title, beating Bridget McGuire 5-2 in the final.

Monaghan previously saw off Mell Harby 4-1 while McGuire beat Karen Cousins by the same margin.

Lee Scattergood won the plate contest as he beat Mason Riou 2-1 in the final.

Jamie Stewart and Aaron Wood both reached the semi-finals but could not progress to the final.