Portland fire against Dragon

Darren Barnes
Darren Barnes
Have your say

Portland Arms maintained their 100-per-cent record in division C with a 5-4 triumph over George & Dragon.

Robbie Brooks opened proceedings for George but Portland soon moved ahead through Dave Stewart and Keith Mayne.

George restored parity with a leg from Les Weston before wins for Ben Watson and Richard Oliver put Portland on the brink of victory, with Oliver checking out on 128.

George’s Les Browne and Shane Plummer kept their side in the match, making it 4-4 but it was Portland’s Asa Norris who took the decisive final clash.

Fawcett Inn are still searching for their first points of the season in division D after suffering a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Battle of Minden.

Minden took a 3-1 lead as Ray Shaw, Colin Pedelty and Jimmy Lampitt were all on the mark, while Josh Olden responded for Fawcett.

Tim Brosman and Luke Smith pulled Fawcett level but Pete Davey and Jay Johnson won it for Minden.

Adam Dungworth won the last leg as a consolation for Fawcett.

Phoenix North End B suffered their first loss in division A, going down 6-3 to Admiral Drake B.

Gary Collis and Ricky Williams put Drake 2-1 up, with Vince Aston replying.

Danny Smith threw an 18-dart leg as he extended Drake’s lead but Bob Crawley hit back for Phoenix with 13 and 18-darters to make it 3-2.

Despite Phoenix’s Jamie Stewart scoring 180, Chris Jafkins won the next set for Drake with an 18-dart leg before Sam Head sealed their victory, hitting a maximum in the process.

Craig McEwan took a consolation for Phoenix before James Brooker added Drake’s sixth, coming from behind after Ivan Gicquel recorded a 14-dart effort.

Jolly Taxpayer B enjoyed a 6-3 win over Harvest Home in division B.

Harvest took the lead three times through Joel Luke, Phil Mercer and David Place Snr, but each time Taxpayer hit back with a win from Dave Andrew and then Ray Priseman before a walkover for Mark Ford.

Ted Andrews, Dave Clark and Steve Houghton then propelled Taxpayer to victory, with Clark scoring 174.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) threw a 16-dart leg while Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms, Phil Rudder (Mr Pickwick), Steve Marsh (Shearer Arms) and Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) all had 18-darters, with Marsh checking-out on 127.

Dave Paul (Old House at Home B) hit a 126 finish, Cyril Large (Rose in June B) checked-out with 116 and Joe Bridle (Stag A) notched a 101 game-shot.

Julian Court (Mr Pickwick), Frankie Howard (Newcome Arms A), Mark Brooks Jnr (Old House at Home C), Steve Filby and Anthony Quintavalle (both Jolly Taxpayer C) all fired in maximums and Graeme Coles (The Royal) scored 177.