Prolific Shearer on the mark to seal win against Rose

Jon Bramble
Jon Bramble
Have your say

Shearer Arms moved up to fourth in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division A with a convincing 7-2 win against Rose in June B.

Andy Cillins took the opener for Rose.

But momentum swung to Shearer as Sam Palmer, Paul Wain, Bruce Baker, Jon Bramble, Wes Farminer and Steve Marsh wrapped up the win.

Wain, Bramble and Marsh all threw 18-dart legs, with Marsh also hitting 180 and a 106 game-shot.

Michael Neat scored 171 against Marsh and Lee Smith recorded an 18-darter against Bramble.

James Rogers took the penultimate set to double Rose’s tally before Paul Slingsby added Shearer’s seventh.

Artillery Arms leapfrogged Electric Arms into second place in division B after beating them 6-3.

Charlie Hymers struck for Electric but Artillery took the win with Jim Adams, Derek Manchip, Robert Osborn, Larry Vernon and Lee Davies on the mark.

Pete Webb and Paul Sibson took consolations for Electric, either side of Paul Richardson winning Artillery’s sixth.

Graham Arms stayed level on points with division C’s front runners thanks to a 5-4 triumph over Pembroke.

Keith John, Terry Griffiths, Derick Corney, Robert Jamieson and Billy Thompson replied for Graham.

Steve Brett, John Bailey, Danny Jones and Martin Downs replied for Pembroke.

Stag B saw off Barley Mow 7-2 in division D. Stag started well with wins from Matt Jeffery, Mark Cunningham, Steve Clarke and Gary Dean.

Rae Lawson and Derek Lundrum halved Mow’s deficit but Stag’s Mark Barnes, Dion Jukes and Les Marsh took the next three games.

Danny Smith, Sam Head, Charlie Jackson (all Admiral Drake B), Vic Smith (Mr Pickwick) Kevin Gilchrist and Darren Barnes (both Newcome Arms A) all threw 15-dart legs with Gilchrist recording a 17-darter, Barnes firing an 18-darter and 180 and Head notching a 108 finish.

Joe Bridle (Stag A) and Ricky Williams (Admiral Drake B) both finished legs in 16 darts while Jamie Stewart (Phoenix North End B) and Gary Smith (Old House at Home B) registered 17-dart efforts, with Smith scoring 180.

Steve Filby (Jolly Taxpayer C) threw 17 and 18-darters, Tim Hope (Phoenix North End B) had a pair of 18-dart legs and a 180 and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) and Ian Bates (Baffins) both used 18 darts to win their games.

Mike Feaver (Lord Chichester B) checked out on 146 while Brian Ford (Rose in June A) had a 115 game-shot.

Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) and Brett Smith (Druids Arms A) hit maximums while Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B) fired 177 and Brian Croucher (Old House at Home B) and Peter Neale (Old House at Home A) both scored 171.