Promotion spots within Arms’ reach

Admiral Drake B's Gary Collis, who threw a maximum. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (123808-8)
Admiral Drake B's Gary Collis, who threw a maximum. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (123808-8)
Andy Jenkins, right, beat Rob Collins, left, in the final

Andy Jenkins wins Bombs Away prize

Have your say

Pelham Arms A have powered into the Portsmouth League division B promotion picture.

They are sitting two points adrift of the promotion places after a 6-3 victory over Stag C.

Rob Louth, Wes Farminer and Ricky Udy moved Pelham 3-1 ahead – with only Ron Farmer jnr able to muster any early resistance.

Mick Jukes halved Stag’s deficit but Alan Poulton, Robert Blake and Stephen Marsh then guaranteed Pelham the points before Luke Graf took a late consolation.

Lord Chichester B battled back from 4-1 down to defeat British Queen in division C.

Craig Bridgewater, David Place jnr and David Place snr were all on the mark for Queen before Dean Charman got Chichester off the mark.

Queen’s John Major re-established their three-leg advantage but it was one-way traffic from there on with Chichester’s John Madgwick snr, Paul Haines, Keith Taylor and John Madgwick jnr securing a 5-4 win.

Artillery Arms kept the pressure on division D’s front-runners as they demolished Alma Arms 7-2.

Artillery wasted no time in bagging the points as David Hatherley snr, Malcolm Smith, Brad Shiers, Graham Keen and Dennis Hatherley propelled them into a 5-0 lead.

Paul Miller and Sam Palmer took consolation legs for Alma either side of Mervin Keen and Mel Waters notching two more wins for Artillery.

Froddington Arms moved two points clear at the top of division E after they enjoyed a 7-2 victory over Baffins, who drop to third.

Daniel Browne and Brian Stewart made a good start for Froddington before Bruce Duff made it 2-1.

Michael Pearce, Liam Emery, Sean Hickley and Louis Arnell then put the match beyond Baffins’ reach.

Ian Bates claimed Baffins’ second leg before David Lock rounded things off for Froddington.

Oyster House cemented second spot in division F by overcoming a depleted George & Dragon B 6-3.

Oyster had walkovers for Danny Wheeler and Jon Macdonald before a win for Chris Cobb put them 3-0 up.

Philip Ponsford and Dean Underdown pulled George within a leg of their opponents but Chris Cobb snr, Dave Harrison and Alex Hood bagged the points for Oyster.

Tony Smith won the remaining leg as a consolation for George.

Newcome Arms A triumphed 5-4 over Jameson Arms in division A.

Paul Richmond opened proceedings for Newcome but Ted Andrews hit straight back. Del Thomson and Frankie Howard put Newcome 3-1 up before Martin Clifford responded. John Richmond notched Newcome’s fourth before Dean Jones sealed the win with a 15-darter and 101 game-shot.

Jameson’s Rob Andrews and Peter Webb won the remaining ties.

Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B) threw a 15-dart leg and 126 game-shot, Ricky Williams (Admiral Drake B) had a 16-darter and Lee O’Donovan and Chris Jafkins (both Mr Pickwick B) both finished legs in 18 darts.

Neil Sheppard (Rose in June B) hit a 110 finish and Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B) fired in a maximum.