Quality quartet set the standard

Adam Lipscombe has thrown a 14-dart leg in division one. Picture: Sarah Standing (133634-3212)
Adam Lipscombe has thrown a 14-dart leg in division one. Picture: Sarah Standing (133634-3212)
Andy Jenkins, right, beat Rob Collins, left, in the final

Andy Jenkins wins Bombs Away prize

Have your say

Only four players have managed to come through the opening stages of the Portsmouth League division A season undefeated.

Ricky Williams (Admiral Drake B), Kevin Mills (Jolly Taxpayer C), Liam Jafkins and Lee O’Donovan (both Mr Pickwick B) are therefore the early leaders for the aggregate title.

Adam Lipscombe, Danny Smith (both Admiral Drake B), Chris Jafkins, Dean Jones and Del Thomson (both Newcome Arms A) share the fastest leg so far with 14-darters and Rob White (Jolly Taxpayer C) has the highest finish with 138.

Neil Sheppard (Rose in June B) is the form player in division B, recording a 15-dart leg and a 153 game-shot.

However, he has not got a 100-per-cent record – unlike Darrell Manchip, Derek Manchip, Roy Morran (all Artillery Arms A) and Martin Simmons (Graham Arms A).

Division C’s aggregate race is also being led by four players with Trevor Cawte (Phoenix North End C), Brad Madgwick (Lord Chichester B), Anthony Turner (Jolly Taxpayer B) and Dean Barlow (Graham Arms B) winning all their games so far.

Robbie Blake’s (Duke of Devonshire) 17-dart leg is the best in the third tier and John Holt (Mermaid) has the best check-out with 143.

The aggregate race is more open in division D as Frank Butcher, Malcolm Smith (both Artillery Arms B), Paul Miller (Eastfield Hotel), Steve Houghton (Jolly Taxpayer A), Robert Ford (Rose in June A), Dave King and Phil King (both Star & Garter) are all without a loss this season.

Smith also has a 17-dart leg to his name while John Rogers (Druids Arms) has registered a 139 finish.

Leslie Weston (George & Dragon A) is the man to beat for division E’s highest finish thanks to his 91 game-shot and Brian Stewart (Froddington Arms) has a 21-dart leg.

Stewart is also undefeated – along with Daniel Browne, Sean Hickley (both Froddington Arms), Fred Fuggle (Baffins), Shane Plummer (George & Dragon A), Kalvin Legg (Old House at Home C) and Martin Downs (Pembroke).

Lee Dagnell (Surrey Arms) is frontrunner in division F’s quick leg (18) and high finish (124) stakes.

Steve Goodeve, Mark Standen (both Fawcett Inn), Richard Bithell (George & Dragon C), Alex Hood (Oyster House), Keith Mayne, Joe Sweetman and Julian Whelan (all Portland Arms) have yet to taste defeat this season.