Rose climb after beating weak Arms

Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Rose in June A moved up to second place in division E as they beat a depleted Portland Arms 6-3.

Ian Burt, Ian Saynor, Chris Pratt and Jim Dugan put Rose 4-1 up – with only Julian Wheelan able to muster any early resistance for Portland.

Hamish Fowlie and Joe Sweetman did pull legs back for Portland but it was too late as walkovers for Julian Davis and Del Fasseau gifted Rose the points.

Froddington Arms B sealed a 6-3 triumph over Stag A in division A.

Luke King and Ash Purkis gave Froddington the early advantage before Mick Neilson and Roy Sands restored parity for Artillery.

Despite Stag’s Joe Bridle scoring 180 in the fifth set, he lost it to Lee O’Donovan, who registered a 118 game-shot and 15-dart leg in putting Froddington back in front.

Daniel Jafkins put Froddington within a leg of victory.

And although Stag’s Paul Emeney kept the match alive, it was only briefly as Ron Jafkins and Liam Jafkins won the remaining sets for Froddington.

Old Canal A pulled themselves out of division B’s bottom two with a 6-3 victory over Mermaid. Trevor Bennett got Mermaid off to a good start with an 18-dart leg but they were soon behind as Graham Cotterill and David Wade were on the mark for Canal.

Mermaid drew level through Stuart Benfield – but Canal wasted no time in bagging the points as Matt Lock, Howard Price and Michael Crabbe all notched wins.

John Holt took a consolation for Mermaid before Kevin Spencer added Canal’s sixth.

Pelham Arms A eased four points clear at the top of division C after a 6-3 win against Raven B.

Wes Farminer drew first blood for Pelham but Raven hit straight back through Ken O’Hara.

Pelham moved 3-1 up through Ricky Udy and Rob Louth but Bob Steel then reduced Raven’s deficit to one.

Paul Wain and Alan Poulton gave Pelham an insurmountable lead before Raven’s Glenn Bremner restored some pride only for Thomas Farminer to round things off for Pelham.

Lord Chichester B remained second in division D after they beat Pembroke Arms 5-4. Roger Croft and Richard Gabbini gave Pembroke a 2-0 lead before Bradley Madgwick hit back.

Nigel Teague restored the two-leg cushion but momentum then swung to Chichester as Ketih Taylor, Martin McAndrew, Paul Collins and Jim Stanhope rattled off four on the trot. Tom Baker took a late consolation for Pembroke.

Sam Head (Admiral Drake B) recorded 16 and 17 dart legs, while team-mates Gary Collis and Jon Bramble also hit 16-darters.

Phil Rudder (Mr Pickwick) threw 17 and 18-dart efforts and Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) and Jamie Stewart (Phoenix North End B) both finished legs in 17 darts with Newcombe also scoring 180.

Dan Eade (Phoenix North End B), Steve Musson (Admiral Drake B) and Steve Ockendon (Jolly Taxpayer C) hit 18-dart legs. Ockendon also scored 180.

Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B), Terry Dugan (Lord Chichester A), Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) and David Place snr (British Queen) all fired in maximums.