Rose climb as quartet put Arms clash to bed

Have your say

Rose in June B moved up to fifth in Portsmouth Men’s Summer League division A as they triumphed 6-3 over Artillery Arms.

Carl Williams took the opener and, despite Artillery’s Roy Morran hitting back immediately, the match was soon decided.

Rose in June’s James Rogers, Lee Smith, Steve Hakin and Chris Harradine were on the mark to seal the success.

Steve Woodage and Derek Manchip took late consolations for Artillery but Rose had the last word as Ian Pearce added their sixth.

Newcome Arms B bagged their first points of the season in division B as they enjoyed a 5-4 victory over Phoenix North End C.

Sean Hickley and Chris Wallis both gave Newcome early leads but Phoenix immediately hit back each time with Ian Vincent and Max Cummins both on the mark.

Tony Small and Tony Price moved Newcome into a 4-2 lead before Gavin Hall halved Phoenix’s deficit.

Steve Wood clinched the match for Newcome leaving Richard Bryant to take a consolation for Phoenix.

Druids Arms B sit top of division C following a 7-2 demolition of Baffins.

Tony Smith and Phil Allen put Druids 2-1 up by taking legs either side of Baffins’ Fred Fuggle getting his team off the mark.

Ian Bates then squared the match but it was one-way traffic from there on as Phil Ponsford, Steve Hansford, Mark Pearce, Paul Boden and Darren Robson swept Druids to victory with Pearce checking out on 109.

Eldon Arms are level on points with division D’s leaders thanks to a 5-4 win over Fawcett Inn.

Michael Chandler and Jon Davison gave Eldon the initial advantage but it was cancelled out by wins from Fawcett’s John Morley and Ronny Morley.

Eldon went 5-2 up through Martin Reilly, Ian Mitchell and James Elliot before Josh Olden and Gary Nolan made the scoreline more respectable for Fawcett.

Lee O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B) and Tim Hope (Phoenix North End B) both threw 16-dart legs last week.

Meanwhile, Joe Bridle (Stag A), Adam Lipscombe (Admiral Drake B), Steve Filby, Del Thomson (both Newcome Arms A) and Keith Mayne (Portland Arms) all recorded 17-darters.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B), Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B), Liam Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) and Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) all finished legs in 18 darts.

Smith and Jafkins scored 171 and 180 respectively.

Paul Hooker (Stag A) checked out on 118.

And James Baseden (Raven), Chris Smith (Mr Pickwick B), Sam Head, Shaun Brooker, Charlie Jackson (all Admiral Drake B) all fired in maximums.