Shipton sunk again

110762_DARTS_02/03/11''Frankie Howard. ''Carisbrooke Premier League Darts, Carisbrooke Arms, Gosport.''Picture: Allan Hutchings (110762-523)
110762_DARTS_02/03/11''Frankie Howard. ''Carisbrooke Premier League Darts, Carisbrooke Arms, Gosport.''Picture: Allan Hutchings (110762-523)
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Mother Shipton are still searching for their first points of the season in division C after they went down 6-3 to Star & Garter.

Mark Lyons gave Shipton the opener before Phil King and Paul Henty moved Star ahead.

Michael Webb pulled Shipton level but Star then moved up a gear, taking four on the trot through Tom Bartholomew, Trevor Martin, Alan Whitehead and Lee Stevenson to win the match.

Ben Watson took a late consolation for Shipton.

Brewers Arms gained their first win in division D as they beat Pembroke Arms 6-3.

Brewers took control of the match from the start as Jack Harris, Steve Barley and John Lale put them 3-0 up.

Nigel Teague reduced Pembroke’s deficit but not for long as Dale Clements struck back for Brewers.

Wayne Redding kept Pembroke in the match. However, Brewers’ Billy Thompson won the seventh leg to clinch victory for his side.

Tom Baker claimed a consolation leg for Pembroke before Martin Place added Brewers’ sixth.

George & Dragon B kick-started their division E campaign with a 7-2 triumph over Shearer Arms.

Neil Deluchi and Tony Rees got George off to a good start before Shearer’s Pete Futcher made it 2-1.

George took the next leg courtesy of Phil Ponsford and although Jonathan Johns pulled one back for Shearer that was all they could muster.

Andy Wolfe, Tony Smith, Bernie Barnes and Ron Udy were all on the mark to give George a convincing win.

Newcome Arms A stay undefeated in division A following their 5-4 win over Old House at Home B.

Newcome’s Dean Jones struck first with 12 and 16-dart legs, including a 180 and 119 finish.

Adam Lipscombe was up next for Newcome but, despite throwing an 18-dart leg, he couldn’t better Dave Paul who recorded a 16-darter for Old House.

Del Thomson hit back for Newcome with a 17-dart effort with a maximum and Paul Richmond finished a leg in 15 darts.

Colin McKean and Dave Smith recorded wins for Old House.

Newcome’s Lee Smith hit a 180 in defeat but his team-mates Frankie Howard and Dave Robinson – who fired in a 16-dart leg and 180 – sealed their win.

Tim Hope opened the remaining set with a 13-darter and 180 but lost out to Steve Phillips who salvaged some honour for Old House.

Phoenix North End A got their division B season off the mark with a 5-4 win over British Queen.

Phoenix took a 3-1 lead through Des Gregg, John Croft and Kieron Brennan, after David Place Jnr had taken the opener for Queen.

Queen restored parity thanks to Craig Bridgewater and David Place Snr.

Phoenix’s Dave Patourel and Mark Wilson won the next two legs to bag the points, before Richard Place grabbed a Queen consolation.

Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) threw a 14-darter and 180. Team-mate Sam Head also had a 14-dart effort in addition to a 17-dart leg.

Steve Musson (Admiral Drake B) and Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) both had 15-dart legs, while James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) registered 16 and 18-dart efforts.

Ricky Williams and Gareth Evans (both Admiral Drake B) had 17-dart legs and Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B), Steve Ockendon (Jolly Taxpayer C), Daren Barnes (Froddington Arms A), Vic Smith (Mr Pickwick) and Rob Newland (Admiral Drake B) all threw 18-darters, with Newland checking out on 103.

Mark Donnelly (Froddington Arms C) finished on 113 and Lester Miles, Dan Stapley (both Graham Arms B), Chris Pratt (Rose in June A) and Chris Brown (Druids Arms) all fired in maximums.