Stag A win key Battle

Paul Wain
Paul Wain
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Stag A moved out of the bottom two in division A with a 7-2 triumph over Battle of Minden A who remain without a point at the foot of the table.

Arthur Morey made a good start for Minden but Stag’s Justin Henshaw – with a 114 game-shot – Roy Sands, Mike Neilson, Mark Smith, Ben Ford and Brian Hammond were all on the mark.

Ron Byng took a late consolation for Minden before Duncan Cope rounded things off for Stag.

Phoenix North End A stay level on points with division B’s front-runners after beating Harvest Home 5-4.

In a fast start, Phoenix took a 2-0 lead courtesy of Mark Hymers and Richard Biffel before Graeme Cooper got Harvest off the mark.

Dave Patourel and John Croft put Phoenix within a leg of victory but Harvest then restored parity as Adrian Matthews, John Hansford and Dave Stewart notched wins.

Mike Feaver won the decider for Phoenix.

Division C leaders Pelham Arms lost their two-point advantage at the top after suffering their first defeat of the season 5-4 to second-placed Stag C.

Paul Wain drew first blood for Pelham but they were soon behind as Ron Farmer snr, Alan D Graf and Luke Graf won for Stag.

Wes Farminer reduced Pelham’s deficit, however, Stag wasted no further time as Alan K Graf and Micky Arthur bagged the points.

Rob Louth and Paul Slingsby won the remaining ties as consolations for Pelham.

Phoenix North End C dropped out of division D’s promotion places after going down 5-4 to Lord Chichester B who sit second.

Chichester took the lead three times as Bradley Madgwick, Paul Collins and John Madgwick snr all chalked up wins but each time Phoenix pegged them back with Pete Smith, Gavin Hall and Stan Smith on the mark respectively.

John Madgwick jnr scored 180 as he moved Chichester ahead once more and this time they kept their advantage with Barry Sloan winning the penultimate leg to take the match.

Phoenix’s Arthur Hawkins won the last leg.

Newcome Arms B stayed top of division E after beating George & Dragon B 6-3. Gary Tobitt and Ron Neale put Newcome 2-1 up, winning legs either side of George’s Tony Smith.

Mick Stapleton pulled George level before Steve Wood and Alex Adams struck for Newcome.

Bernie Barnes kept George in the match but that was all they could muster with Newcome’s Ray Coombes and Tony Price winning the last two ties.

Steve Musson (Admiral Drake B) fired in 16 and 18-dart legs along with a 180 and 114 finish, while Steve Rackett (Old House at Home B) threw a maximum and a 15-darter.

Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) and Ricky Williams (Admiral Drake B) both had 16-dart efforts, with Filby scoring 180, and Bob Hey, Les Rance (both Phoenix North End B), Paul Gibbs (Newcome Arms A) and Mark North (Tap) all recorded 17-dart legs.

Kevin Mills (Jolly Taxpayer C), Kevin Gilchrist (Graham Arms A), Gary Collis and Danny Pinhorne (both Admiral Drake B) all had 18-dart legs and Collis also checked out on 116.

Anton Lewis (Jolly Taxpayer B) registered a 125 game-shot and Shane Filleul (Newcome Arms A), Charlie Linkhorn (Mr Pickwick), Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A), Dean Barlow (Graham Arms B), Gary Smith (Old House at Home B) and Dave Lock (Froddington Arms C) all fired in maximums.