Stag see off Gwynne

Ian Bates
Ian Bates
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Stag A gained their first points of the season as they beat Nell Gwynne 5-4 in Portsmouth Men’s Summer League division B.

Justin Henshaw and Mark Smith gave Stag an early lead.

But Nell moved ahead, with Phil Jarvie, Derek Knight and Shane Bailey on the mark.

Stag bounced back with wins from Brian Hammond, Paul Emeney and Peter Scott to wrap up the victory.

Jan Davison took the last for Nell.

Baffins made a winning start to their division C campaign.

They recorded a 6-3 success against Artillery Arms B.

Dale Stockwell and Ken Journeau put Baffins 2-0 up.

Mervin Keen got Artillery off the mark.

Baffins then upped their game as Michael Chandler, Ian Bates and Vic Wain secured victory.

Fred Fuggle and Lee Lankin jnr won for Artillery to make the scoreline more respectable.

Bruce Duff then added the icing on the cake with Baffins’ sixth win.

Phoenix North End C were too good for Old House at Home C as they won the division D clash 6-3.

Dean Messenbird, Joe Standen and Gavin Hall got the ball rolling for Phoenix.

Derek Sutton and Pete Neale reduced Old House’s deficit.

Arthur Hawkins put Phoenix on the brink of triumph and Pete Smith scored 180 as he won the next leg to seal it.

Phoenix’s Mike Feaver took the penultimate leg.

John O’Shea then claimed a late consolation for Old House.

Marmion Tavern came from behind to beat Stag 5-4 in division E.

Tom Jeffery, Mike Barnes and Mark Barnes struck early for Stag.

Jason Appleton responded for Marmion who then launched their fightback.

Dan Rickards, Brian Croucher and Pete Hollingdale moved Marmion ahead.

Stag’s Lee Hudson then forced a decider which Stephen Goodeve won for Marmion.

Phoenix North End B triumphed 6-3 over Lord Chichester A in division A.

Phoenix took the lead three times, with Dan Eade – 180 – Lee Smith and Lee Cook – 18-dart legs – notching sets.

But they were pegged back on each occasion as Terry Dugan, Ray Williams and Keith Sault cancelled them out.

Undeterred, Phoenix took all three remaining sets through Bob Hey, Steve Todd and Lee Todd, while Pete Curtis hit a 180 for Chichester.

Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) fired in 14 and 18-dart legs and two 180s, while Mason Riou (Mr Pickwick) recorded a 15-darter and a 120 game-shot.

Daniel Gilchrist (Lanyards) threw a 16-dart effort and Chris Cobb snr (Oyster House), Neil Sheppard (Rose in June B), Darren Barnes (Froddington Arms B) and Mick Corbin (Newcome Arms B) all had 17-dart legs.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) notched two 18-darters, James Brooker (Admiral Drake B), Dave Kattenhorn (Mr Pickwick) and Robbie Blake (Duke of Devonshire A) also had 18-dart legs, with Brooker scoring 177.

Dave Paul (Old House at Home B) checked-out on 134, Allan Lloyd (Mr Pickwick) hit a 133 game-shot, Daniel Jafkins (Froddington Arms B) finished on 125 and Simon Blake (Graham Arms B) and Brian Dickson (Druids Arms) hit game-shots of 107 and 106 respectively.

Del Thomson (Newcome Arms A), Paul La Roche and Lee O’Donovan (both Froddington Arms B) all fired in maximums.