Switched on Electric charge to fine victory

Bob Crawley in action
Bob Crawley in action
Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Electric Arms boosted their division C glory charge in the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League with a 7-2 victory over relegation-threatened Alma Arms.

Wins from Rob Hatherley, Mick Byrne, Gerry Allen, Pete Pitt and Peter Buckett put Electric 5-0 up, securing victory in the process.

Alma’s Rob Simmons allayed any fears of a whitewash before Martin Clifford and Pete Webb took Electric’s tally to seven.

Nathan Janman won the remaining leg as a further consolation for Alma.

Electric are now six points clear at the top.

Division D table-toppers Old Canal C were a player down but still had enough to defeat Jolly Taxpayer A 5-4.

R Johnson, D Morris and D Stapley gave Canal a 3-0 lead before Mark Harris got Taxpayer off the mark.

J Dean moved Canal within a leg of victory but Taxpayer’s Robert Houghton and T Davis kept their side in the match.

However, Canal clinched victory in the next leg through M Keen before Taxpayer’s Kevin Houghton was awarded the final tie as a walkover.

Phoenix Lounge B cemented their place in division A’s top four with an 8-1 demolition of Derby Tavern.

Gary Smith and Lee Smith put Phoenix 2-0 up before Andrew Barlow replied.

But that was all Derby could muster as Phoenix romped to victory with Dave Paul, Mick Valvona, John Colbourne, Dave Gant, Lee Scattergood and Colin McKean all on the mark.

Star & Garter pulled themselves four points clear of division B’s relegation zone with a 6-3 triumph over Duke of Devonshire.

Robbie Blake and Ian Bowles put Duke in the lead early on but Star hit back with Phil King and Dave Gisby chalking up wins.

Duke went ahead for a third time courtesy of B Bevan but momentum swung to Star with Alan Whitehead, C Skiffington, David King and Trevor Martin giving them a comfortable win.

Bob Crawley (Phoenix Lounge A) threw a 20-dart leg of 701 while Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) needed just 23 darts for his game and Terry Raggett (Devonshire Arms) finished 501 in 18 darts.

Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) checked-out with a 116 game-shot and John Major (British Queen) and Steve Ockendon (Jolly Taxpayer C) finished on 108 and 100 respectively.

Dave Robinson (Jolly Taxpayer C), Steve Musson (Admiral Drake B) and Stefan Everard (Phoenix Lounge A) all fired in maximums.