Tap run into fine form and slay George & Dragon

Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

George & Dragon A had their lead at the top of the Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division D cut to four points after they suffered a 5-4 defeat at the hands of The Tap.

Sean Hickley got George off to a positive start but they were soon 2-1 down after Mark North and Gary Ramshead struck for Tap.

George restored parity through Mark Pearce but Nick Rook then put Tap 3-2 up.

Daniel Browne and Kevin Hayes took legs to give George a 4-3 lead but Tap took the remaining ties through Peter Fitzgerald and Darren Dixon to clinch victory.

Alma Arms stay firmly in division E’s promotion race following a 7-2 triumph over Cabmans Rest.

Both sides were short of players, with Alma’s Barry Smith and Cabmans’ Karl Steenton receiving early walkovers but wins from Paul Simmons, John Millard and Wayne Callister put Alma in the driving seat.

Cabmans’ James Foster won to keep his side in the match but an 18-dart leg and 100 game-shot from John Campkin bagged the points for Alma.

Team-mates Rob Simmons and Tony Scutts won the remaining legs.

Admiral Drake B opened up a two-point lead at the top of division A with a 6-3 win against Phoenix North End B.

Lee Smith won the first set for Phoenix, despite Barry Stevens registering a 18-dart leg and 103 game-shot against him.

Phoenix doubled their lead through Jamie Stewart who hit a 116 finish but Drake then took control with six sets on the trot from Gary Collis – 18-dart leg – Jon Bramble – 180 – Brian Colenutt, Sam Head – 12-dart leg – James Brooker and Ricky Williams – 17-dart leg. Dan Eade took the last game as a late consolation for Phoenix.

Electric Arms beat Old House at Home A 7-2 to move up to second in division B.

Old House seized the initial advantage, with Adrian Jones and Derek Sutton winning the first two ties.

But that was all they could muster as Rob Andrews, Paul Sibson, Ted Andrews, Steve Cole, Martin Clifford, Peter Buckett and Peter Webb won all seven remaining legs for Electric.

Jolly Taxpayer pulled level on points with division C’s third-placed team, Druids Arms, as they beat them 7-2.

Taxpayer took the opening leg as a walkover for Robert F Parsons and moved 4-0 up with Robert Houghton, Sam Malone and Tyson Kendall all on the mark.

Peter Hannam kept Druids in the match but Steve Houghton won the sixth leg to give Taxpayer an insurmountable lead.

Steve Patrick took a consolation for Druids, leaving Sam Willis and Mark Harris snr to round things off for Taxpayer.

Malcolm Ogden (Mr Pickwick) threw a 16-dart leg, while Joe Bridle (Stag A) and Kevin Gilchrist (Graham Arms A) both had 17-darters.

Gary Smith, Ken Dean (both Old House at Home B), Del Thomson (Newcome Arms A) and Paul Slingsby (Pelham Arms A) all finished legs in 18 darts.

Bob Rice (Lord Chichester A) hit a 112 game-shot, while Connor Prout (Jolly Taxpayer B) and Connor Murry (Mr Pickwick) checked out on 103 and 100 respectively.

Jerry Goddard (Raven B), Jim Mortimer (Jolly Taxpayer C), Martyn Simmons (Graham Arms A) and Gary Hornby (Mermaid) all fired in maximums.