Taxpayer cash in to close on leading trio

Joe Bridle. Picture: Mick Young (150105-07)
Joe Bridle. Picture: Mick Young (150105-07)
Have your say

Jolly Taxpayer C moved within two points of Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division A’s top three as they came from behind to triumph 5-4 over Stag A.

Anthony Quintavalle won the opener for Taxpayer but they were soon 4-1 down as Roy Sands, Joe Bridle – with an 18-darter – Stephen Wain and Paul Hooker struck for Stag.

Taxpayer refused to roll over, though, as Daniel Stapley, Alan O’Donovan Steve Filby – with a 180 – and Andy Newcombe propelled them to victory.

Harvest Home pulled away from division B’s relegation zone as they overcame Electric Arms 6-3.

David Place Snr and Craig Bridgewater put Harvest 2-0 up before James Bateman was awarded a walkover for Electric.

Harvest moved to the brink of victory through Phil Mercer and Steve Leigh but Rob Andrews was on hand to keep Electric in the match.

Pete Webb won the seventh leg to bag the points before Joel Luke took a consolation for Electric and Robert Blake added Harvest’s sixth.

Baffins dropped out of division C’s top three after suffering a 5-4 defeat at the hands of Royal.

Fred Fuggle opened proceedings for Baffins only for Derek Toms to hit straight back.

Baffins moved ahead once again with Bruce Duff on the mark but momentum then swung to Royal as Graeme Coles, Brian Cohead, Charlie Hallett and Brian Hughes gave them an insurmountable lead.

Baffins made the scoreline more respectable with a win from Keith Farbrace and 18-darter by Vic Wain.

Admiral Drake A remained rooted to the foot of division D after going down 6-3 to Fawcett Inn.

Adam Dungworth and Steve Goodeve put Fawcett in command.

Anthony Griffin got Drake off the mark but Fawcett wasted no further time in bagging the points with Ronny Morley, Luke Smith and John Dungworth moving them 5-1 up.

Mark Mitchell and Richard Lindford took consolations with wins either side of a Stuart Barber score.

Craig McEwan (Phoenix North End B) recorded a 14-dart leg, while Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) threw 15 and 17-dart efforts.

Lester Miles (Admiral Drake B), Neil Hallett (Druids Arms A) and James Scammell (Red, White & Blue) had 17-darters, Chris Harradine (Rose in June B) notched a pair of 18-dart legs and a 180 and Paul Haines (Lord Chichester B), Jim Adams (Artillery Arms) and Kyle McManus (Old House at Home B) finished legs in 18 darts –with McManus scoring 180.

Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B) checked out on 136 and Ron Albury (Oyster House B) hit a 107 finish.

Pat Reed (Lord Chichester A), Vic Smith (Mr Pickwick), Lee Smith (Rose in June B), Luke Graf (Froddington Arms), Asa Norris and Rob Griffin (both Portland Arms) all fired 180s.