The Tap suffer that sinking feeling

Old House at Home B's Brian Croucher
Old House at Home B's Brian Croucher
Have your say

The Tap dropped into Portsmouth Men’s League division C’s bottom two after a 7-2 defeat at the hands of Old House at Home C.

Mark Wilson got Tap off to a winning start but it didn’t last as Old House took seven legs on the trot thanks to Mark Standen, Keith Lovell, Matt Lock, Shane Bailey, Daniel Legg, Kane Potter and Howard Price.

Robert Scott took the last tie as a consolation for Tap.

Rose in June A stayed within two points of division D’s leaders after they enjoyed a 5-4 triumph over a depleted Admiral Drake A side.

Rose’s Paul Saynor was awarded the first leg as a walkover but Drake then seized the advantage through Chris Potter and Simon Hughes.

Brad Lennox restored parity for Rose but Drake moved ahead again with a leg from Chris Spratt.

Ian Saynor and Brian Ford put Rose in front and within a leg of victory but Craig Pitman won the penultimate clash for Drake to force a decider, which Ian McClaren won for Rose.

Lord Chichester B jumped up two places in division A following their 5-4 win against Old House at Home B.

Old House took a 2-0 lead with Brian Croucher winning the opener before Gary Smith threw a 15-darter to double their tally.

Steve Ketchen and Mike Feaver pulled Chichester level before Daryl Connor edged his Old House side back in front.

Momentum then swung to Chichester, with Keith Taylor and John Madgwick Snr putting them 4-3 up.

Old House’s Ken Dean squared the game at 4-4 but John Madgwick Jnr won the decisive final set to bag the winning points.

Oyster House moved level on points with division B’s frontrunners following a 5-4 victory over Harvest Home.

Jon Macdonald, Chris Cobb Jnr and Chris Cobb Snr put Oyster 3-1 up after Phil Mercer won the opener for Harvest.

David Place Snr, Joel Luke and Robert Blake put Harvest back in front but it was short-lived as Alex Hood and Rob Loveridge took the remaining ties to win the match for Oyster.

Sam Palmer (Shearer Arms) recorded a 12-dart leg and 180, while Chris Harradine (Rose in June B) and Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) both had 14-darters, with Harradine also scoring 180.

Shane Williams (Rose in June B) notched both 16 and 18-dart legs and 18-dart efforts also came from Lester Miles (Admiral Drake B), Darren Barnes, Dean Jones (both Newcome Arms A), Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B) and Craig McEwan (Phoenix North End B).

Collis also fired in a maximum 170 game-shot and a 118 finish.

Bob Hey (Phoenix North End B) and Paul Taylor (Rose in June B) both scored 180.