Unseeded Stafford proves his class

editorial image
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Gary Stafford was crowned Autumn Grand Prix Series champion after he beat Danny Smith in the final.

The unseeded Stafford overcame Mike Gillet 3-2 in the first round before beating Jack Marriner 3-1 in the last-eight.

Those wins set him on the way to glory and he eased to a 3-0 win over Dale Masterman in his semi-final.

Second-seed Smith provided the opposition in the final but Stafford proved too strong, winning 4-2 to pocket the £320 top prize .

Smith had previously beaten Martin Stead 3-2 in the semis.

Earlier in the competition he negotiated a route past Bob Crawley, 3-2 in the quarters, and John Gibson, 3-1 in the first round.

Top-seed Andy Jenkins was knocked out in the last eight, going down 3-1 to Masterman.

Stead beat Paul Gibbs by the same margin in the other last-eight battle.

Ricky Williams, Jon Bramble, Sam Head, Adam Lipscombe, Mason Riou and Steve Jannaway were first-round victims.

Mick Street won the series plate contest, with a 2-0 victory over Shayne Daughtrey in the final.

Street had previously enjoyed 2-0 whitewashings of Gary Smith in the semi-finals and Stefan Evrard in the last eight.

Daughtrey also won his last-four tie 2-0 against Colin Littlecott, after a 2-1 quarter-final win against Ivan Lowden.

Jane Monaghan and Keith Hopper were eliminated in the quarter-finals.

Monaghan still had cause to celebrate, though, as she won the ladies’ title by beating Sam Pike 2-0.

The Portsmouth ace will make her 100th Hampshire appearance when she lines up to face Nottinghamshire on January 19-20.

Fareham’s Steve Musson will be celebrating his own century of appearances as he also reaches the milestone.

Tim Hope, of Portsmouth, has been handed his first A team call-up following good form for the county B side.

The only other change to the squad is Fareham’s Steve West being lined up for a county debut as he replaces Paul Dunn in the second-string.

Portsmouth’s Martin Stead has been named as a reserve.

Men’s A: Dave Bonnett, Kev Ede, Mike Gillet, Sam Head, Tim Hope, Dean Jones, Dennis Murrell, Steve Musson, Sam Rooney, Danny Smith, Gary Stafford, Lee Ward.

Men’s B: Steve Ballard, Justin Bradshaw, Ben Bran, Paul Gibbs, Phil Harty, Andy Mitchell, Nillson Pritchard, Mick Street, Mark Thorne, Simon Timmins, Steve West, Paul Winter.

Men’s reserves: Paul Dunn, Martin Stead.

Ladies’ A: Maxine Cadwallader, Gemma Hayter, Elaine Harty, Sue Lowther, Jane Monaghan, Wendy Reinstadtler.

Ladies’ B: Jaine Heaton, Pennie Lewis, Kelly Palmer, Sam Pike, Tara Power, Dawn Simmonds.

Ladies’ reserve: Jo Senior.