Valley heap misery on Jolly boys

Share this article
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Meon Valley cemented their second-place position in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division A after coming from behind to secure a 5-4 triumph over Jolly Taxpayer C.

Taxpayer took a 2-0 lead as Kevin Mills and Rob White were on the mark.

But an 18-dart leg helped Barry Gibson put a first set on the board for Meon before Steve Rackett, Ken Dean, Colin McKean and Dave Paul guaranteed them the points. McKean also notched an 18-darter.

Jim Mortimer and Steve Ockendon took consolation sets for Taxpayer – with Ockendon throwing a 14-dart effort.

Artillery Arms A stay top of division B following a 5-4 win over Rose in June B.

Artillery trailed at first with Rose taking a 3-1 lead courtesy of Shane Wiliams, Doogie Ralph and Dave Whyte, while only Austin Main could muster an early response for Artillery.

Graham Davies and Darrell Manchip restored parity for Artillery but then Paul Taylor put Rose within a leg of victory.

However, it was Roy Morran and Jim Adams who took the remaining ties to bag the points for Artillery.

British Queen moved into division C’s promotion places after they dispatched Old House at Home A 5-4.

Richard Place opened proceedings for Queen but they were soon behind as Jim Dean and Peter Neale struck for Old House.

Momentum then swung to Queen as John Major, David Place snr, Craig Bridgewater and Ian Smith guaranteed them the win.

John O’Shea and Adrian Jones took the remaining legs as consolations for Old House.

Alma Arms pulled away from division D’s relegation zone as they beat Admiral Drake A 7-2.

Paul Miller, Brian Cohead and Paul Lipscombe put Alma in the driving seat with the first three legs.

Simon Hughes and Dave Alton reduced Drake’s deficit to one but it was one-way traffic from then on as Sam Plamer, Ron Waters, Derek Toms and Perry Wilson secured a convincing win for Alma.

Division E leaders Froddington Arms A suffered their second defeat of the season as they went down 5-4 to Battle of Minden A who sit in fourth – level on points with second.

Minden moved 2-0 up as David Johnson snr and Raymond Evert notched legs.

But Froddington then took control with legs from Brian Stewart, Michael Pearce and Daniel Browne.

James Lampit and Gerrold Cox gave Minden a 4-3 lead before Froddington’s David Lock won to force a decider which Jay Johnson secured for Minden.

Division F’s third-placed side George & Dragon B opened up a two-point gap over the teams below them with a 7-2 victory over Trafalgar Arms.

George wasted no time in bagging the points as Richard Horrell, Stephen Hansford, Tony Smith, Philip Ponsford and Mark Pearce won the first five legs.

Terry Smith and Sidney Neville ensured Trafalgar didn’t suffer a whitewash.

But those were the only legs they claimed as the remaining ties were awarded to George’s Dean Underdown and Danny Hayden as walkovers.

Gary Collis and Ricky Williams (both Admiral Drake B) threw 18-dart legs – with Williams also hitting a maximum.

Aaron Wood (Mr Pickwick A) recorded a 16-darter, while Steve Filby (Newcome Arms A) finished a leg in 17 darts.

Nathan Elverson (Stag C) checked out on 120 and David Hatherly snr had a 102 finish.

Barry Stevens, James Brooker (both Admiral Drake B) and Peter Pitt (Jameson Arms) all fired in maximums.