Vital win is a great lift for Arms

Steve Filby
Steve Filby
Have your say

Artillery Arms leapfrogged Oyster House B into third place in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division B after winning the contest 7-2.

Paul Miller took the opener for Star but Oyster’s Rob Loveridge replied.

Star sealed the points with Tom Bartholomew, Kevin Hookey, Gary Haywood and Lee Stevenson propelling them to victory.

Alex Hood took a consolation for Oyster before Star’s Dave Gisby, with a 180, and Paul Henty added wins.

Tap gained vital points in the division C relegation battle as they triumphed 5-4 over Oyster House A.

Oyster went 2-1 up as Darren Trace and Phil Smith registered wins either side of a Tap leg from Jason Jeal.

Les Phipps and Mark Wilson put Tap 3-2 up.

Frank Butcher restored parity for Oyster but Tap’s Robert Scoot and Daniel Johnson secured victory.

Malcolm Smith took a consolation for Oyster.

Red White & Blue closed in on division D’s top three with a 6-3 win over Battle of Minden.

Colin Hatherley, Jim Scammell, Pete McKeon, Joe Lane, Clifford Martin and James Scammell were on the mark for Red, White & Blue.

Jay Johnson, Dave Johnson Snr and Dave Johnson Jnr replied for Minden.

Shearer Arms saw off Old House at Home side 5-4 in division A.

Paul Slingsby, Steve Marsh, Paul Wain, Sam Palmer and Wes Farminer ensured Shearer got the win.

Gary Smith, Dave Smith, with a 177, Colin McKean and Laurie Clark replied for Old House.

Steve Filby (Jolly Taxpayer C) recorded a 12-dart leg and 101 finish while Danny Smith and Charlie Jackson (both Admiral Drake B) both had 14-darters.

Jon Davison (Eldon Arms) finished a leg in 17 darts and Anthony Quintavalle, Andy Newcombe (both Jolly Taxpayer C), Andy Collins and Chris Harradine (both Rose in June B) registered 18-dart efforts, with Harradine scoring 180.

Paul Taylor (Rose in June B) hit a 117 game-shot while Nigel Young (Graham Arms) and David Lock (Old House at Home C) checked-out on 112 and 110 respectively.

Mike Feaver, Paul Haines (both Lord Chichester B), Adam Lipscombe, Shaun Brooker (both Admiral Drake B), Martin Simmons (Graham Arms) and Louis Arnell (Froddington Arms) all fired in maximums.

Meanwhile, the Cosham Christmas Open returns on Sunday, December 27, with a guaranteed £300 prize fund.

It takes place at Cosham Royal British Legion Club (1.30pm).

A ladies’ competition will also be held subject to a minimum of eight entrants.

Doors open at 10am and early birds can take part in a blind pairs contest at 11am.

Combined entry to the blind pairs and singles is £10.