Williams delivers 180 as Drake rise to Challenge

Have your say

Admiral Drake B are on course to successfully defend their Portsmouth League Challenge Cup title after reaching the final with a 5-4 triumph over Newcome Arms A.

Anthony Quintavalle took the opener for Newcome but they were soon 3-1 down as Gary Collis, James Brooker and Sam Head put Drake in command.

An 18-dart leg from Dean Jones reduced Newcome’s deficit to one but Danny Smith immediately restored Drake’s advantage.

Del Thomson won the seventh tie to keep Newcome in the match but Ricky Williams took the next leg to book Drake’s place in the final, scoring 180 in the process.

Newcome took a late consolation courtesy of Frankie Howard.

Jolly Taxpayer C will be their opponents in the final after they overcame Phoenix North End B in the last four.

Bob Crawley, Jason Crawley and Jamie Stewart put Phoenix 3-0 up but momentum swung to Taxpayer as Glyn Evans, Garry Madden, Kevin Mills, Steve Ockendon and Steve Humby gave them an insurmountable lead.

Geoff Cunningham took the remaining leg as a consolation for Phoenix.

Electric Arms took advantage of Baffins depleted squad as they won their Challenge Plate quarter-final 5-4.

Rob Andrews, James Bateman, Peter Pitt and Steve Cole were on the mark before Mick Byrne’s walkover win settled it.

Star & Garter came from behind to beat Froddington Arms A 6-3 in their quarter-final.

Dave King, Steve Bern, Lee Stevenson, Paul Miller, Phil King and Tom Leg guaranteed their progress after a fast start by Froddington.

In league action, Portland Arms continued their domination of division D with a 7-2 win over Fawcett Inn.

Keith Mayne claimed a 108 finish and Jack Hicks, Asa Norris, Dave Stewart, Joe Sweetman, Liam O’Driscoll and Julian Whelan were all on target.

Stag B missed the chance to go top of division E as they went down 5-4 to Jolly Taxpayer A.

Steve Houghton brought Taxpayer back from the brink to level at 4-4 before Michael Bedford sealed the win.

Admiral Drake B remained undefeated at the head of division A after dispatching Mr Pickwick A 7-2.

Bill Sturgess and Danny Smith, who threw an 18-dart leg, and Lester Miles had Drake in control.

Charlie Linkhorn threw a 180 for Mr Pickwick before an 18-dart leg and 180 from James Brooker got Drake back on track and Jon Bramble took the next set to win them the match.

Tap B moved off the foot of division B with a 6-3 victory over Old House at Home A.

Des Gregg, Mark Wilson, Grant McKnight, Steve Chandler, Ian Smith and Michael McKnight all scored.

Jolly Taxpayer B moved up to third in division C with a 6-3 win against Battle of Minden.

Dave Clarke, Ray Priseman, George Davis, Thomas Money, Ted Andrews and David Gough were the heroes.

Andrews also produced an 18-dart leg.

Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) threw a 17-dart leg and Colin McKean (Old House at Home B) and Paul Richmond (Newcome Arms A) both registered 18-darters with Richmond scoring 180.

Darrell Manchip (Newcome Arms A) hit a 110 game-shot, while Ian Saynor (Rose in June A) and Mason Riou (Mr Pickwick B) checked out on 109 and 106 respectively.

Tony Price (Newcome Arms B) fired in a maximum.