Ripner fires deadly double for Portchester

Portchester's Jay Ripner scored twice
Portchester's Jay Ripner scored twice
Gosport have taken a lift from Craig McAllister's leadership. Picture: Keith Woodland

Gosport encouraged ahead of Redditch trip

Have your say

AFC Portchester ramped up their promotion challenge with an impressive 4-2 victory over Tadley Calleva in Wessex League division one last night.

Glen Bridgman’s side travelled to Tadley looking to bounce back from the 4-2 loss at Brockenhurst last weekend.

The visitors escaped early on when James Wingfield and Peter White spurned good chances for Tadley.

And Portchester made the most of their good fortune on 25 minutes.

Jay Ripner shrugged off a challenge before cutting into the box and arrowing a shot into the corner of the net.

Five minutes later, and following another quality move, Portchester doubled their advantage.

Mark Collis presented Zack McGregor with a simple chance and he thrashed the ball home from six yards.

Rampant Portchester made it 3-0 on 40 minutes.

Collis’ long shot was not held by Tadley keeper Darren Maunder and Ripner was in to turn the ball over the line.

With the interval in sight, Tadley pulled a goal back through Callum Bush.

Portchester had to show their defensive mettle to keep their advantage early in the second half as they came under pressure.

But on the hour, Tadley’s Peter White made the most of dreadful defending from the visitors to pull back a second goal.

It was game on for the confident hosts who sensed there was still a way back and a chance to claw a point.

Portchester had other ideas, though, and after Simon Woods and Jake Daniels had brought superb saves from Maunder, substitute Dale Clark got on the end of a cross to hammer in number four.

‘We made it very hard for ourselves by gifting them two goals but the end result was thoroughly deserved,’ said AFC Portchester boss Glen Bridgman.

AFC Portchester: Watson; Maddison, James, Howe, Farley, Turrell, Pottage, Daniels, Ripner, McGregor, Collis. Subs: Woods, Clark, Cooper, Miller.