Johnny Ertl chosen as Pompey Trust spokesman

Johnny Ertl. Picture: Neil Marshall
Johnny Ertl. Picture: Neil Marshall
Have your say

Johnny Ertl has been named as the new spokesman for the Pompey Supporters’ Trust following his election.

The former Blues midfielder was one of four fresh additions voted on to the Trust board last week.

As a result, the new-look board held their monthly meeting on Monday to designate roles.

And Ertl, who made 88 appearances for Pompey, takes on the mantle of spokesman with immediate effect.

Others elected to take their places are Simon Colebrook, Clare Martin and Scott Mclachlan.

Colebrook, who is a chartered accountant with more than 20 years of experience in financial and corporate management, has been appointed as the Trust’s full-time treasurer.

He replaces Geoff Paul, who stood in until the elections following the resignation of Steve Tovey in April.

Colebrook will present the Trust’s accounts at the AGM to be held in the Victory Lounge on Wednesday, October 7, in a change to 
the scheduled date of September 24.

Martin, who also serves as chief executive of Pompey in the Community, will be working on community-related projects alongside Tom Dearie.

Dearie is behind the successful Pompey Fans Days, which last ran in the summer of 2014.

Meanwhile, Mclachlan, who is now in his second spell on the Trust board, will be involved in reigniting the youth committee, previously headed by Olly Birch.

Birch was a co-opted member of the board but has now stepped down from the role.

Instead, Mclachlan will seek the assistance of fans who previously volunteered their services to the youth committee in a bid to kick-start the project.

Ertl will also be involved with working on the Blues concept.

Mclachlan will also work alongside Trust and Pompey board member John Kimbell to look at the approach to marketing and communications.

Finally, with the Trust recognising the importance of increasing its membership base, Ertl has been designated to lead the project, although all board members will be involved.

The quartet of new arrivals will work alongside Ashley Brown, Mark Trapani, Kimbell, Mike Saunders, Pam Wilkins and Dearie.

Meanwhile, the role of Trust chairman will be decided following next month’s AGM. The 
position has been vacant since the death of Ken Malley in June.

In addition, Mark Farwell has remained as secretary, assisted by ex-chairwoman Jo Collins, while Steve Hatton continues his role as membership secretary.

Any member wishing to contact the board can do so directly by emailing

For more information visit the Trust’s website at