Pompey 1 Cardiff 0

Pompey manager Harry Redknapp holds the FA Cup after the 1-0 victory over Cardiff
Pompey manager Harry Redknapp holds the FA Cup after the 1-0 victory over Cardiff
Share this article
Jamal Lowe. Picture: Mark Robinson

Pompey v Blackpool: pre-match talking points

Have your say

FA Cup final, May 17, 2008

A first-half goal by Kanu proved enough for Pompey to see off Championship side Cardiff City and win the FA Cup.

Watched by a crowd of 89,874 at Wembley Stadium, David James had to be alert to save twice from Paul Parry in the opening minutes.

Kanu should have broken the deadlock in the 23rd minute but, somehow, with the goal at his mercy, he rolled the ball against the outside of the post and wide.

However, the Nigerian made amends in the 37th minute by putting Pompey ahead.

Peter Enckelman palmed a low cross by John Utaka straight into Kanu’s path and he steered the ball home.

Cardiff had a chance to level on 40 minutes but Kevin McNaughton was unable to control the ball with the goal gaping.

The Welshmen then thought they had equalised shortly before the half-time whistle when Glenn Loovens shot past James with a half-volley from just inside the penalty area but referee Mike Dean adjudged the Dutchman had handled the ball.

Lassana Diarra was booked for a foul on Loovens and, shortly after, referee Dean blew the final whistle to spark joyous scenes amnogst the Pompey supporters, celebrating the club’s first FA Cup triumph since 1939.

The day after their FA Cup success, Pompey were greeted by around 200,000 fans for a victory parade in the city.

POMPEY: David James, Glen Johnson, Sylvain Distin, Sol Campbell, Hermann Hreidarsson, John Utaka (David Nugent 69), Lassana Diarra, Pedro Mendes (Papa Bouba Diop 78), Sulley Muntari, Niko Kranjcar, Kanu (Milan Baros 87).

CARDIFF CITY: Peter Enckelman, Kevin McNaughton, Tony Capuldi, Gavin Rae (Trevor Sinclair), Roger Johnson, Glenn Loovens, Joe Ledley, Stephen McPhail, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Steven Thompson), Peter Whittingham (Aaron Ramsey), Paul Parry.