Pompey announce squad numbers

Matt Tubbs will wear the number nine shirt this season Picture: Joe Pepler
Matt Tubbs will wear the number nine shirt this season Picture: Joe Pepler
Have your say

POMPEY have announced their squad numbers for the 2015-16 season.

Paul Cook has handed numbers to 22 players for the new campaign.

Interestingly, however, the number two and 10 numbers still remain vacant.

Cook is still in the market for a right-back, with Ben Davies and Dutchman Frank van der Struijk on trial.

Paul Merson famously came in and was handed the number 10 spot on the eve of the 2002-03 season.

Harry Redknapps’s side went on to storm to the First Division title, with Merson pulling the strings.

Tom Craddock wore the number last season, but the striker recently joined National League side Guiseley.

Matt Tubbs takes on the number nine mantle after wearing 14 when he arrived from AFC Wimbledon in January.

Ryan Taylor vacated the shirt when he moved to Oxford this summer.

First-year pro Brandon Haunstrup is given number 38 after his elevation into the senior ranks.

Chad Field and Snorre Nilsen, who were also handed deals in the summer, have not been allocated squad numbers.

Gary Roberts, regarded as a key summer signing by many supporters, will wear number 11.

Pompey fans, as ever, have the number 12 shirt reserved for them.

Squad numbers

1 Paul Jones

3 Enda Stevens

4 Adam Webster

5 Paul Robinson

6 Christian Burgess

7 Adam McGurk

8 Michael Doyle

9 Matt Tubbs

11 Gary Roberts

14 Kal Naismith

15 Adam Barton

16 Jack Whatmough

17 Jayden Stockley

18 Ben Tollitt

19 Conor Chaplin

21 James Dunne

23 Kyle Bennett

25 Nigel Atangana

26 Gareth Evans

29 Danny Hollands

33 Ben Close

38 Brandon Haunstrup