Pompey Ladies miss out on league revamp

Pompey Ladies boss Vanessa Raynbird
Pompey Ladies boss Vanessa Raynbird
Pompey boss Kenny Jackett. Picture: Joe Pepler/Digital South

Rotherham 1-0 Pompey: they said what?

Have your say

Pompey Ladies have missed out on being part of the revamped FA Women’s Super League.

Vanessa Raynbird’s side, who currently play in the national division of the Premier League, failed to be included in the 10 teams who will play in the second tier of the new structure – WSL 2.

Up to 30 teams were believed to have expressed an interest in the new format when the plans were introduced.

And Pompey ladies held a visionary meeting, hosted by partners The University of Chichester, in order to get their application for the league in order.

Representatives from the FA, Pompey Supporters’ Trust, the Hampshire FA and Portsmouth City Council were all in attendance.

However, their combined efforts proved not enough, with league chiefs snubbing their bid.

The second tier will comprise of Aston Villa, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Durham, London Bees (Barnet FC), Millwall Lionesses, Oxford United, Reading, Sunderland, Watford and Yeovil Town.

The top flight will consist of Arsenal, Birmingham City, Bristol Academy, Chelsea, Everton, Notts County (formerly known as Lincoln Ladies) and Liverpool.

The move is part of the FA’s five-year plan to develop the game, with the governing body pledging to invest £3.5m over the next four years.

The new league kicks off in March 2014.