Pompey’s 2012-13 fixtures: South coast derby first up

Pompey will welcome Bournemouth to Fratton Park for the season opener on Saturday, August 18
Pompey will welcome Bournemouth to Fratton Park for the season opener on Saturday, August 18
Pompey manager Kenny Jackett

Four sides competing with Pompey for play-offs

Have your say

Pompey will start their League One campaign with a mouthwatering south coast derby clash against Bournemouth.

Michael Appleton’s side will host the Cherries at Fratton Park on Saturday, August 18 after the Football League fixtures were announced for the 2012-13 season.

Paul Groves - who was on the Pompey coaching staff under Avram Grant - is now in charge at Dean Court and will return to his old stomping ground with a Bournemouth side who will be considered as one of the favourites for promotion after recent Russian investment.

REPLAY: Mark Acheson discusses the 2012/13 fixtures

But life in the third tier will then come into sharp focus for the Blues as a trip to Colchester is followed by the longest haul of the season up to Carlisle to make up the August matches for Appleton’s men.

Pompey will face Crawley Town for the first time in league history on September 8 with a trip to Broadfield Stadium.

And the Christmas fixutre list has been relatively kind with a Boxing Day home clash with Crawley and another Fratton showdown three days later with Yeovil Town.

While Appleton’s men are then away on New Year’s Day, it is a short trip to Swindon Town, who were promoted from League Two last season.

Pompey will then complete their return to the third level with a last-day trip to Shrewsbury Town on Saturday, April 27, 2013.

Pompey fixtures 2012-2013


18 Bournemouth (H)

21 Colchester (A)

25 Carlisle (A)


1 Oldham (H)

8 Crawley Town (A)

15 Walsall (H)

18 Swindon (H)

22 Notts County (A)

29 Scunthorpe (H)


2 Yeovil (A)

6 Milton Keynes Dons (A)

13 Crewe (H)

20 Shrewsbury (H)

23 Stevenage (A)

27 Sheff Utd (A)


6 Brentford (H)

10 Bury (A)

17 Doncaster (H)

20 Leyton Orient (H)

24 Coventry (A)


8 Tranmere (A)

15 Preston (H)

22 Hartlepool (A)

26 Crawley Town (H)

29 Yeovil (H)


1 Swindon (A)

5 Walsall (A)

12 Notts County (H)

19 Scunthorpe (A)

26 Hartlepool (H)


2 Colchester (H)

9 Bournemouth (A)

16 Carlisle (H)

23 Oldham (A)

26 Milton Keynes Dons (H)


2 Crewe (A)

9 Bury (H)

12 Leyton Orient (A)

16 Doncaster (A)

23 Coventry (H)

30 Preston (A)


1 Tranmere (H)

6 Stevenage (H)

13 Brentford (A)

20 Sheff Utd (H)

27 Shrewsbury (A)

Reproduced under licence from Football DataCo Limited. All rights reserved. Licence number