Quinn leads new Pompey Hall of Fame intake

Mick Quinn scored 64 goals in 129 Pompey games
Mick Quinn scored 64 goals in 129 Pompey games
Have your say

Mick Quinn heads the latest list of players set to be inducted into Pompey’s Hall of Fame.

The former Fratton favourite scored 64 goals in 129 games on the south coast.

It was a three-year spell which established him as a popular Blues figure.

Now he is among an all-star cast unveiled as the next entries into the club’s Hall of Fame.

The ceremony in March will also see honours for Jimmy Scoular, Ron Saunders, Eoin Hand and Kit Symons.

In addition, there will be a nod towards the early years of Pompey, with recognition for John Weddle.

Weddle played for the club in the 1929 and 1934 FA Cup finals and comes second only to Peter Harris in the all-time list of Blues goalscorers.

From 1927-38, the centre-forward made 396 appearances and scored 181 goals. He died in November 1979.

Of the others, organiser Jake Payne has revealed Hand has already indicated he will be present for the Hall of Fame event.

The former Republic of Ireland international spent 11 years at Fratton Park, making 302 appearances.

He also turned out 19 times for his country.

Symons, who attended last year’s occasion as a guest, was a Pompey favourite during the 1990s.

After coming through the ranks alongside the likes of Andy Awford, Darren Anderton and Daryll Powell, he played 192 times.

Scoular was a member of the division one title-winning sides in 1948-49 and 1949-50.

A former Gosport and Royal Navy player, he made 268 appearances and scored eight goals for the Blues.

Finally, Saunders was a prolific goalscorer for the club in the late ’50s and early ’60s.

Despite playing in two relegation sides during his six-year stay, he managed 156 goals in 258 matches.

Now in its fifth year, the Hall of Fame has proven to be a massively-popular event.

Those already inducted include Jimmy Dickinson, Peter Harris, Ray Hiron, Guy Whittingham, Alan Knight, Len Phillips, John Milkins, Mick Tait, Andy Awford, Duggie Reid, Jack Froggatt, Johnny Gordon, Albert McCann, Alan McLoughlin, Paul Walsh, Linvoy Primus, Reg Flewin, Norman Piper, Alan Biley, Steve Claridge and Jack Tinn.