Waddock factfile

Gary Waddock and Gareth Ainsworth celebrate League Two promotion with Wycombe at the end of the 2010-11 season
Gary Waddock and Gareth Ainsworth celebrate League Two promotion with Wycombe at the end of the 2010-11 season
Have your say

Name: Gary Waddock

Former clubs (playing career): QPR, Charleroi, Millwall, Swindon (loan), Bristol Rovers, Luton

Former clubs (managerial/coaching): QPR, Aldershot, Wycombe, MK Dons, Oxford United, Barnet

Playing career at a glance:

The former midfielder made over 200 appearances for QPR between 1979 and 1987

Upon leaving QPR he played for Belgian side Charleroi for three years, making 40 appearances and scoring one goal

Went on to play for Millwall 58 times

Moved to Swindon (loan)

Bristol Rovers (71 league appearances, one goal between 1992 and 1994)

Finished his playing career at Luton Town (over 150 appearances between 1994 and 1998)

The London-­born midfielder made 21 appearances and scored three goals for Republic of Ireland between 1980 and 1990, missing out on selection for the 1990 World Cup

Managerial career highlights:

Worked as academy coach at QPR under Ian Holloway.

Took over as caretaker manager in February 2006 and finished 21st in the


Was appointed full time manager in June 2006 but sacked in September 2006.

Appointed boss of Aldershot Town in May 2007.

In his first season in charge,

the Shots won the FA Coference Cup and also the Conference title with a then­ record 101 points

Named Conference Manager of the Year for 2007-2008

Appointed manager of League One Wycombe Wanderers in October 2009, but failed to prevent relegation to League Two.

Promoted back to League One in 2010-2011 season but relegated again after the 2011-2012 season.

Sacked in September 2012 with Wycombe 21st in League Two table.

In June 2013 he was appointed as head of coaching at MK Dons to work alongside Karl Robinson.

In April 2014, he was appointed head Coach of Oxford United, but failed to make the play­-offs and was sacked following a change of ownership.

Managerial honours:

2007-2008 Conference manager of the year (Aldershot)

2007-2008 Conference National winner (Aldershot)

2007-2008 Conference League Cup winner (Aldershot)

2010-2011 League Two third-place promotion (Wycombe)

Managerial Record:

2006 QPR: 24 games, Won 4, Drew 8, Lost 12 (17% win)

2007­-2009 Aldershot: 125 games, Won 60, Drew 30, Lost 35 (48% win)

2009-­2012 Wycombe Wanderers: 147 games, Won 47, Drew 39, Lost 61 (Win 32%)

2014 Oxford United: 8 games, Won 1, Lost 7 (Win 12.5%)